Motor Racing News

INRC 2017: Gaurav Gill And Co-driver Musa Sherif Seal Fifth National Title With Win At K-1000 Rally

Originally Published On |

Mahindra Adventure's Gaurav Gill and co-driver Musa Sherif have won their fifth Indian National Rally Championship  crown after triumphing in the K-1000 in Bangalore today, the final round of the 2017 INRC season.

Gill took part in only four of the six rounds of a season in which the final round had to be pushed to as late as January because of inclement weather related cancellations and postponments. One of the rounds he missed was the India Rally in Chikmagalur where the INRC was a supporting category to the FIA Asia Pacific Rally Championship's final round for 2017. Gill won that rally in the APRC class to clinch his third APRC title. 

Gill won all four of those rounds for Mahindra Adventure, with whom he has been competing in cross-country rallying and the INRC since 2012.

INRC 3 champion Dean Mascarenhas, despite rolling into a ditch in the first Super Stage and falling behind by over 16 minutes, managed to take the second place in the overall standings. Defending INRC champion Karna Kadur, however, took advantage familiar home conditions to force his way to the third position in the K-1000. His second podium finish helped him secure second place in the INRC 2 category and third place in the overall Championship.

Rahul Kanthraj claimed the INRC 2 title. The only driver who could have upstaged him, Younus Ilyas, pulled out during the rally's fourth special stage. The FMSCI 2WD Cup was taken by Chetan Shivram and Rupesh Kholay. Defending K-1000 winner Amittrajit Ghosh crashed in the sixth and final stage. His car was heavily damaged but he and his co-driver, Ashwin Naik, walked away with minor injuries.