Andhra Pradesh Lok Sabha Elections

Andhra Pradesh CM Chandrababu Naidu Seeks Repolls Over Dysfuctional EVMs, Writes To EC

Written By Navashree Nandini | Mumbai | Published:


  • CM Chandrababu Naidu¬†has written to the CEO of Andhra Pradesh seeking re-polls in those seats where EVM malfunctions were reported
  • He wrote to the CEO following the problem of dysfunctional EVMs in some of the polling booths in Andhra¬†Pradesh.

Following reports of dysfunctional EVMs in some of the polling booths in Andhra Pradesh, the state's Chief Minister, Chandrababu Naidu, has written to the state's Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) seeking re-polls in the relevant seats.

In the letter that he wrote to the Chief Electoral Officer of the state, Naidu has sought re-polling in the constituencies where EVMs were not working till 10 am - three hours after the elections began.

"It is likely that many voters who returned home without voting may not come back even if polling is resumed after replacement/repair of the existing EVMs and therefore, re-polling is needed at all polling stations where voting had not commence till 9.30 am”, Naidu wrote. 

Furthermore, sources have also informed that CM Naidu has alleged that in some constituencies votes cast for TDP are going to the YSRCP.

READ: Assembly Elections 2019 LIVE: Voting To Take Place In Andhra Pradesh, Odisha, Arunachal Pradesh And Sikkim

Expressing his disappointment on the wastage of around three hours before the polling could commence due to faulty EVMs, Naidu said that without causing inconvenience to the voters the EC should announce re-polls in those stations. 

However, Chief Electoral Officer Gopal Krishna Dwivedi said that the technical glitches in the EVMs of more than 50 places have been rectified. Earlier, the CEO also said that the EC is ensuring that polls are conducted peacefully in the state. However, one TDP worker has lost his life in the clashes between TDP and YSRCP supporters in Anantapur district in Andhra Pradesh.

YSRCP chief Jagan Mohan Reddy is the main opposition in the state against Chandrababu Naidu.

There are a total of 3,93,45,717 registered voters in the state, including 1,94,62,339 male, 1,98,79,421 female and 3,957 transgenders. Of the total, 10.15 lakh are first-time voters in the age group 18-19. As many as 2,118 and 319 candidates are in the fray for 175 Assembly and 25 Lok Sabha seats respectively. 

READ: Two TDP Workers Killed In Clash Between TDP And YSRCP activists In Andhra Pradesh's Anantapur