Bihar Lok Sabha Elections

2019 Lok Sabha Election Results For Siwan, Bihar: JD(U) Legislator Kavita Singh Wins Against RJD Candidate Hina Shahab

Written By Daamini Sharma | Mumbai | Published:

The 2019 Lok Sabha election in Bihar's Siwan was billed as one between the wives and kin of known ’Bahubalis’, with RJD candidate Hina Shahab, wife of convicted 'don' and four times MP Mohammad Shahabuddin pitted against Kavita Singh, a JD(U) candidate and wife of another 'Bahubali' Ajay Singh. Hina had unsuccessfully contested twice whereas Kavita, who is also a JD(U) legislator from the Daraundha assembly seat, is making her Lok Sabha Election debut.


Kavita Singh - a JD(U) candidate and wife of another 'Bahubali' Ajay Singh won with 447171 seats.

Campaign and Controversy:

Hina Shahab attempted to create her own space as a politician telling prospective voters that her agenda is development. Her opponents, however, stated that voting for Hina would mean a return of Shahabuddin.

"For Hina, it is a prestige battle this time to prove her might in the absence of her powerful husband. She lost twice in 2009 and 2014," said Lal Babu, a small-time trader in Siwan to a newspaper.

Kavita was lucky when Siwan, a Bharatiya Janata Party seat held by Om Prakash Yadav, went to the JD(U) under a seat sharing formula. The JD-U decided to field her in place of her husband Ajay Singh, who is facing several criminal cases and has a tainted image.

2014 Lok Sabha Elections:

The constituency of Siwan holds significance as it is a vote-bank bastion of the Rashtriya Janata Dal. However, the constituency was won Om Prakash Yadav of BJP in 2014 as he beat Hina Shahab by almost 1.15 lakh votes.