Bihar Lok Sabha Elections

2019 Lok Sabha Election Results From Ujiyarpur: BJP's Nityanand Rai Humbles Former Ally Upendra Kushwaha, RLSP Chief's Troubles Compound

Written By Navashree Nandini | Mumbai | Published:


  • RLSP chief and former Union Minister Upendra Kushwaha was defeated by BJP MP Nityanand Rai in Bihar's Ujiyarpur Lok Sabha constituency

Among the closely watched contests in Bihar, Ujiarpur parliamentary constituency that went to polls in the fourth phase of Lok Sabha elections witnessed sitting BJP MP Nityanand Rai taking on RLSP chief and former Union Minister Upendra Kushwaha.

The counting that began in the 8:00 in the morning, declared sitting BJP MP Nityanand Rai  a winner as the counting was completed in the evening against RLSP chief Upendra Kushwaha by a margin of 277278 votes

In 2014, Rai defeated Alok Kumar Mehta of the Lalu Prasad Yadav-led Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) by a margin of 60,000 votes. While Rai is the Bihar Unit chief of the BJP, Kushwaha joined the RJD-led Mahagathbandhan in Bihar after quitting the NDA government at the Centre over seat-sharing. The tough fight in this seat is a prestige battle for both BJP and RLSP. However, Kushwaha is contesting from Ujiarpur for the first time, in addition to his traditional seat of Karakat.

READ: 2019 Lok Sabha election results from Unnao, UP: BJP's Sakshi Maharaj bags the crown, wins by a king's ransom of votes

Taking to Twitter, Rai said:

"I am heartily thankful to the voters of  Ujiyarpur for then love and support. I will keep this blessing with me and will deliver with all my dedication and I will continue to work for you."

READ: 2019 Lok Sabha election results from Anantnag, J&K: Mehbooba Mufti humbled, concedes defeat to NC's Hasnain Masoodi

The Bihar Mahagathbandhan comprises Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD), Congress, Rashtriya Lok Samta Party (RLSP), Hindustan Awam Morcha (HAM) and Vikasshil Insan Party (VIP). On the other side is the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) which comprises Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Janata Dal (United) and Lok Janshakti Party (LJP). The BJP is in alliance with Nitish Kumar led JD(U).

READ: 2019 Lok Sabha election results from North East Delhi: BJP Delhi chief Manoj Tiwari routs former CM Sheila Dikshit by more than 3 lakh votes