Bihar Lok Sabha Elections

POLITICAL SCOOP: Lalu Prasad Yadav Sets The Terms For Rahul Gandhi Over RJD-Congress Bihar Gathbandhan, 19-9 Seat-share Say Sources

Written By Daamini Sharma | Mumbai | Published:

Jailed former Bihar CM Lalu Prasad Yadav has set the terms to the Congress with respect to the two parties' gathbandhan in the state ahead of the Lok Sabha elections, sources have told Republic TV.

As per inputs, the RJD is likely to contest in 19 of Bihar's 40 seats, while the Congress will field its candidates in 9 seats, Upendra Kushwaha-led RLSP in 5 seats, Jitan Ram Manjhi's HAM in 3 seats and two other allies, VIP and CPI(ML) in 3 and 1 seat respectively.

Sources have also added that the RJD will be releasing its list of candidates in a phase-wise manner - Bihar goes to polls in all seven phases.

As per sources, following could be the RJD candidate list for 2019 Lok Sabha for the state of Bihar:

1. Arjun Rai- Sitamadhi

2. Rama Singh- Sheohar

3. Chandrika Rai- Saran  

4. Heena Sahab- Siwan  

5. Raguvansh PD Singh- Vaishali                 

6. Sheochandra Ram- Hajipur                     

7. AB Siddiqui- Darbhanga 

8. MA Fatmi- Madhubani 

9. Maganilal Mandal- Jhanjharpur                   

10. Sarfaraz- Araria          

11. Bulo Mandal- Bhagalpur                             

12. Jaiprakash Yadav- Banka                   

13. Bibha Devi- Nawada  

14. Sharad Yadav- Madhepura               

15. Tanveer Hasan- Begusarai                

16. Misa Bharti- Patliputra       

17. Randhir Singh- Maharajganj                       

18. Jagdanand- Buxar         

19. Surendra Yadav- Jahanabad

Read: Trouble For BJP? Giriraj Singh Refuses To Contest From Bihar's Begusarai, Seeks Meeting With Amit Shah Over Nawada Seat: Sources

Lalu Prasad is likely to insist that the Darbhanga ticket goes to his party, likely to RJD leader Abdul Bari Siddiqui. RJD is not willing to concede Darbhanga seat for its sitting MP Kirti Azad. Mr. Azad could be asked to move to West Champaran district in Bihar. 

Sources have also informed Republic TV that Lalu Prasad Yadav has put another condition that RJD will support  Ranjita Rajan from Supaul district in Bihar only if her husband Rajesh Rajan, better known as Papu Yadav, don't fight as an independent candidate from Madhepura district and does not disturb Sharad Yadav.

Sources in the RJD have also told Republic TV that talks are still on with the Congress Party and the issue will be resolved soon.