Bihar Lok Sabha Elections

WATCH: Shatrughan Sinha Opens Up On Jumping Ships From BJP To Congress Days Ahead Of Lok Sabha Polls In An Exclusive Interview To Republic Bharat

Written By Navashree Nandini | Mumbai | Published:

Hours after being officially inducted into the Congress party, Shatrughan Singh in an exclusive interview to the Republic TV spoke on an array of topics. The senior leader is all set to contest the upcoming polls from the 'Patna Sahib' Lok Sabha seat on Congress ticket. 

Speaking on why he joined the Bharatiya Janata Party, Sinha said, "When I came to the party I believed that this would be my first and last party. But, I realised with time things have changed. Things changed from 'lokshahi' (Democracy) to 'tanashahi' (dictatorship)."

Later, on being asked why chose to leave the saffron party days before the Lok Sabha election, he reiterated his remarks saying that the BJP is a one-man show and two-man army.

"There used to be collective decision during Atal (Bihari Vajpayee) ji's time. There was democracy in the true sense. But now, there is the case of one-man show and two-man army," said the 73-year-old leader.

READ: Mouthwatering Patna Sahib Contest Looms, Congress Fields Shatrughan Sinha Against BJP's Ravi Shankar Prasad In Elections 2019

Watch the full exclusive interview above.

Rebel BJP MP Shatrughan Sinha on Saturday officially joined Congress, following which he was given a ticket to contest from Patna Sahib constituency in 2019 polls. On March 26, BJP announced Union Minister Ravi Shankar Prasad's candidature in the elections from the Patna Sahib Lok Sabha seat. 

Lok Sabha elections are set to kickstart from April 11 in the country, with Bihar going to polls in all seven phases.



Republic World brings you comprehensive election news coverage and phase-by-phase election updates of the Indian General Elections 2019. The 2019 Lok Sabha Elections will be held from April 11 to May 19 in seven phases, with the counting of votes scheduled for May 23. Get all the latest election news, highlights, controversies, polls, live updates and results of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019, only on Republic World.

Trending in Politics - Narendra Modi, Rahul Gandhi, Amit ShahMamata BanerjeeYogi Adityanath