Bhupesh Baghel To Be The Chief Minister Of Chhattisgarh

Chhattisgarh Elections News

After much anticipation, Bhupesh Baghel has been announced as the Chief Minister for Chhattisgarh.

Written By Apoorva Rao | Mumbai | Updated On:

After much anticipation, the Congress has announced that Bhupesh Baghel will be the Chief Minister for Chhattisgarh. 

Bhupesh Baghel will take oath as the Chhattisgarh chief minister on Monday at 5 PM, Observer for the state Mallikarjun Kharge said.

Baghel said that the the appointment of Deputy CMs and Cabinet ministers said, "For appointment of Deputy CMs and Cabinet ministers, 'the decision to be taken after I take oath tomorrow. Many national leaders, including Rahul Gandhi and CM of several states are expected to be present in the oath-taking ceremony."

Baghel is an MLA from Patan. His political career began in 1986 when he joined the Congress. When Chhattisgarh was a part of Madhya Pradesh, he was elected is an MlA from Patan. He maintained his seat after the creation of Chhattisgarh.

READ: "I take moral responsibility of the loss", says Dr. Raman Singh as Congress sweeps Chhattisgarh assembly polls

The top four candidates for the CM chair were Bhupesh Baghel, TS Singh Deo, Tamradhwaj Sahu, and Charan Das Mahant. UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi and Congress party president Rahul Gandhi had held talks with top contenders in the CM race.

After announcing their Chief Ministers in Rajasthan and Madhya Pradesh, as Ashok Gehlot and Kamal Nath respectively, the party was to make an announcement for the same chair even in Chhattisgarh on December 15.

READ: Kamal Nath is the new Chief Minister of Madhya Pradesh

Congress had flourished victorious in the state of Chhattisgarh in the assembly elections, after similar victory in Rajasthan and a close win in Madhya Pradesh, . Bagging 68 out of 90 seats, reducing BJP to 14 seats, Congress received a majority in the state, outsing incumbent Raman Singh- led BJP. The BJP via Raman Singh has been in power for over a decade.

Chhattisgarh went to polls in two phases on November 12 and November 20. The state where elections were held first among the five had an overall voter turnout of 74.17 per cent.

READ: Ashok Gehlot to be next Rajasthan Chief Minister, Sachin Pilot Deputy CM

By 2030, 40% Indian will not have access to drinking water