Dadra and Nagar Haveli Lok Sabha Elections

2019 Lok Sabha Election Results For Dadra And Nagar Haveli: Independent Candidate Mohanbhai Sanjibhai Delkar Wins, Embarrasses BJP & Congress

Written By Daamini Sharma | Mumbai | Published:

Dadra and Nagar Haveli Lok Sabha constituency headed for Lok Sabha elections in the third phase of Lok Sabha elections. Dadra and Nagar Haveli Lok Sabha constituency is the only Lok Sabha (parliamentary) constituency in the union territory of Dadra and Nagar Haveli, which covers the entire union territory. It is reserved for the Scheduled Tribes.


The key candidates in the Dadra And Nagar Haveli constituency for Lok Sabha Elections 2019 was Natubhai Gomanbhai Patel of BJP against Prabhubhai Tokiya of Congress.


In a major jolt to the BJP and Congress, Independent candidate Mohanbhai Sanjibhai Delkar has won the sole seat of the Union territory with a margin of 9001 votes. 

Read: 2019 Lok Sabha Election Results For Mandya, Karnataka: Sumalatha Defeats Political Scion Nikhil Gowda, Humbles Karnataka CM HD Kumaraswamy


Former Dadra and Nagar Haveli MP Mohan Delkar of Congress, who had represented the seat six times in the past, resigned from the party just before the elections and announced his decision to contest as an Independent candidate. Delkar, who headed the Congress unit in the Union Territory of Dadra and Nagar Haveli, said that he took this decision after consulting his supporters and common people.

He had lost to BJP's Natubhai Patel in the 2009 and 2014 Lok Sabha elections on the party ticket.


During 2014 general elections for the Lok Sabha, Natubhai Gomanbhai Patel of the BJP won from this seat. Also, the BJP held this seat after its victory in 2009. Mohanbhai Sanjibhai Delkar held this seat continuously for six terms from 1989 to 2004.

During these six elections, two times he fought as an independent candidate, two times for the INR, once for the BJP and once for his own Bharatiya Navshakti Party.


Republic World brings you comprehensive election news coverage and phase-by-phase election updates of the Indian General Elections 2019. The 2019 Lok Sabha Elections will be held from April 11 to May 19 in seven phases, with the counting of votes scheduled for May 23. Get all the latest election news, highlights, controversies, polls, live updates and results of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019, only on Republic World.

Trending in Politics - Narendra Modi, Rahul Gandhi, Amit ShahMamata BanerjeeYogi Adityanath