Daman and Diu Lok Sabha Elections

2019 Lok Sabha Election Results For Daman & Diu: NDA Keeps The Islands' Saffron, Retains The Sole Seat

Written By Digital Desk | Mumbai | Published:

The second smallest Union Territory of India, Daman and Diu came into existence in 1987. The total eligible voters in the union territory are 111827 people. 

The UT is represented by a single constituency in the Lok Sabha. Daman and Diu is presently ruled by the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) which had been victorious three times in the UT, on the other hand, the Indian National Congress (INC) has seen four victories. The UT is not a political hub and therefore none of the political parties in the country have campaigned here. 

2019 results: NDA retained the sole seat in the islands

Key Contest

Congress and BJP are the major players in the political scene of Daman and Diu. This year, Lalubhai Patel from BJP will contest against Ketan Patel of UPA and Umesh B Patel, who is fighting independently.

In 2009 and 2014 parliamentary elections, BJP won under Lalubhai Patel who was a two time MP from the state. Earlier, in 1999 and 2004 elections, Congress candidate Dhayabhai Patel won and held the seat for two consecutive terms.

2014 General Elections:

At the time of the previous general elections in 2014, Daman & Diu had a total of 111,818 registered electors, of whom 78.01 per cent, or 87233, exercised their right to franchise across 131 polling stations to choose their only Member of Parliament from among 4 candidates. 

It has only one Lok Sabha seat, which was won by the Bharatiya Janata Party’s Lalubhai Babubhai Patel in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections. Patel had polled 54.7 per cent of the votes.


Tandel Devji Jogibhai, who won the 1989 general elections as an independent, joined forces with the BJP and went on to win the 1991 and 1998 elections for the party. As far as Congress is concerned, the party has been successful under the leadership of Tandel Gopalbhai Kalyanbhai and Patel Dahyabhai Vallabhbhai in the past.

Republic Double Exit Polls prediction 

While CVoter projected Daman and Diu's lone seat for NDA, Jan Ki Baat said it can go either way.

Seat-share projection: 
NDA: 1 seat 
UPA: 0

CVoter vote-share projection:
NDA: 45.3 per cent
UPA: 25.7 per cent

Jan Ki Baat: 
Seat-share projection:
NDA: 0-1 seat
UPA: 0-1 seat


Republic World brings you comprehensive election news coverage and phase-by-phase election updates of the Indian General Elections 2019. The 2019 Lok Sabha Elections will be held from April 11 to May 19 in seven phases, with the counting of votes scheduled for May 23. Get all the latest election news, highlights, controversies, polls, live updates and results of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019, only on Republic World.

Trending in Politics - Narendra Modi, Rahul Gandhi, Amit ShahMamata BanerjeeYogi Adityanath