Haryana Lok Sabha Elections

WATCH: Here's What Virat Kohli Said After Queuing Up With Brother Vikas To Cast His Vote Early In Haryana's Gurugram in Phase 6 Of Lok Sabha Elections

Written By Aishwaria Sonavane | Mumbai | Published:


  • Virat Kohli came out to cast his vote in phase 6 of the Lok Sabha polls on Sunday
  • He casted his vote at a polling booth in Haryana's Gurugram at Pinecrest School. 

Indian skipper Virat Kohli came out early in the national capital to exercise his franchise for the sixth phase of Lok Sabha elections.

Accompanied by his brother, Vikas Kohli, the cricketer could be seen obliging the voters and interacting with them as he stood in the queue along with the others before casting his vote.

He said, "Everyone should come and cast their votes as their national duty. I did my duty and cast my vote. One and all should come."

Later, Kohli shared a picture on Instagram with his inked finger urging voters to vote saying, "Voting is your right and responsibility towards nation building. Go vote."


Voting is your right and responsibility towards nation building. Go vote.

A post shared by Virat Kohli (@virat.kohli) on


He casted his vote at a polling booth in Haryana's Gurugram at Pinecrest School. 

Over 22 lakh voters will elect 24 candidates as Gurugram, along with nine other Parliamentary constituencies in the states, go to polls on Sunday. 

On Sunday, 59 constituencies, six states and one Union territory will go to polls to seal the fate of 979 candidates in the 2019 Parliamentary elections. 

Voting will take place for 14 seats in Uttar Pradesh, 10 in Haryana, eight seats each in West Bengal, Bihar and Madhya Pradesh, seven in Delhi and four in Jharkhand.

The following are some of the key constituencies and battles with its crucial candidates that will go to the polls in phase 6.

  • East Delhi (Delhi)

Key contestants: Gautam Gambhir (BJP), Atishi Marlena (AAP), Arvinder Singh Lovely (Congress) 

  • Azamgarh (Uttar Pradesh)

Key contestants: Akhilesh Yadav (SP), Dinesh Lal Yadav 'Nirahua' (BJP)

  • Bhopal (Madhya Pradesh) 

Key contestants: Digvijay Singh (Congress), Sadhvi Pragya Singh Thakur (BJP)

  • Morena (Madhya Pradesh)

Key contestants: Narendra Singh Tomar (BJP), Ram Niwas Rawat (Congress)

  • Guna (Madhya Pradesh)

Key contestants: Jyotiraditya Scindia (Congress), K.P. Yadav (BJP)

  • Sultanpur (Uttar Pradesh)

Key contestants: Maneka Gandhi (BJP), Sanjay Singh (Congress)

  • Allahabad (Uttar Pradesh)

Key contestants: Rita Bahuguna Joshi (BJP), Rajendra Pratap Singh (SP), Yogesh Shukla (Congress) 

  • Purvi Champaran (Bihar)

Key contestants: Radha Mohan Singh (BJP), Akash Singh (RLSP)

  • Hisar (Haryana)

Key contestants: Dushyant Chautala (JJP), Bhavya Bishnoi (Congress), Brijendra Singh (BJP)

  • Rohtak (Haryana)

Key contestants: Deepender Singh Hooda (Congress), Arvind Sharma (BJP), Dharamvir (INLD)

  • Sonipat (Haryana)

Key contestants: Bhupinder Singh Hooda (Congress), Ramesh Chander Kaushik (BJP), Digvijay Chautala (JJP), Surender Chhikara (INLD)

  • North East Delhi (Delhi) 

Key contestants: Manoj Tiwari (BJP), Sheila Dikshit (Congress), Dilip Pandey (AAP)

  • Chandni Chowk (Delhi)

Key contestants: Harsh Vardhan (BJP), Jai Prakash Agarwal (Congress), Pankaj Gupta (AAP)

  • South Delhi (Delhi)

Key contestants: Ramesh Bidhuri (BJP), Vijender Singh (Congress), Raghav Chadha (AAP)