Himachal Pradesh Lok Sabha Elections

2019 Lok Sabha Election Results In Himachal Pradesh: BJP Wins All Four Seats In The State

Written By Digital Desk | Mumbai | Published:

With just four seats namely Kangra, Mandi, Hamirpur and Shimla, the state witnessed a tense battle in the Lok Sabha Election 2019. A BJP bastion, the state has seen a bipolar contest in its history, with two national parties Congress and BJP in a direct fight with each other.

2019 Lok Sabha Election Results: BJP wins all four seats in the state

KEY CONTEST: The key contest in the state is in Hamirpur which will be a litmus-test for BJP's three times young MP and former state president of the party Anurag Thakur who is in competition from the Congress to wrest his party's bastion - the Hamirpur Lok Sabha constituency. The Congress which has won this seat only once in the past 30 years, has pitted former athlete and five-time legislator Ram Lal Thakur against former BCCI chief Anurag Thakur. 

ELECTION CONTROVERSY: In a major election controversy, Indian Overseas Congress chief and Gandhi loyalist Sam Pitroda made an absolutely appalling statement that brushes of the violent mass genocide of thousands of members of the Sikh community in the 1984 anti-Sikh riots following the assassination of then Prime Minister Indira Gandhi. 

Pitroda passed the remark when he was addressing the media in Himachal Pradesh, on BJP’s charge citing the Nanavati commission report that the instructions for the violence had come from Rajiv Gandhi who had taken up the post of Prime Minister after his mother was killed. 

Pitroda had angrily said, "I don't think so, this is also another lie, and what is with 1984? You speak about what happened in 5 years. It happened in 1984, so what? (1984 hua toh hua)" 


As per projections of Republic Exit polls, it was predicted that NDA will continue a stronghold, and will win four seats, while UPA will be left empty-handed. 

BACKGROUND: Back in the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections, The BJP made a clean sweep in Himachal Pradesh by winning all four Lok Sabha seats with a massive margin besides wresting the Sujanpur Assembly seat where a by-election was held simultaneously. 

Former Himachal CM Shanta Kumar defeated Congress’ Chander Kumar. The Congress received a major jolt in Mandi seat where BJP’s greenhorn Ram Swaroop Sharma defeated the then sitting Congress MP and wife of  Chief Minister, Pratibha Singh. 

The BJP received three seats during 2009 elections leaving only one seat for the Congress party. While in 2004, the results saw the Congress party winning from three seats while the BJP gained 1 seat from the state. Hence, there are only these two major parties of the country that have been sharing constituencies among them during most Lok Sabha Elections down in history 


Republic World brings you comprehensive election news coverage and phase-by-phase election updates of the Indian General Elections 2019. The 2019 Lok Sabha Elections will be held from April 11 to May 19 in seven phases, with the counting of votes scheduled for May 23. Get all the latest election news, highlights, controversies, polls, live updates and results of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019, only on Republic World.

Trending in Politics - Narendra Modi, Rahul Gandhi, Amit ShahMamata BanerjeeYogi Adityanath