2019 Lok Sabha Election Results: Exactly One Year On, Here's How The 'Jo Humse Takrayega, Woh Choor Choor Ho Jayega' Mahagathbandhan Fared Versus The NDA

Indian General Elections

The leaders in Opposition parties had come together at oath-taking ceremony of HD Kumaraswamy in a show of strength in 2018. The message they wanted to send in the 'historic' meeting was 'there will be a big change in 2019'.

Written By Apoorva Rao | Mumbai | Updated On:

Exactly one year ago, during the oath-taking ceremony of HD Kumaraswamy as the chief minister of Karnataka following the floor test in the state's assembly following a split verdict, the leaders in Opposition parties had come together at the event in a show of strength. 

Among the leaders joining in to show their unity were Sonia Gandhi, Congress president Rahul Gandhi, West Bengal CM and Trinamool chief Mamata Banerjee, BSP chief Mayawati, SP chief Akhilesh Yadav, Chandrababu TDP chief Naidu, CPI(M)'s Sitaram Yechury, AAP 's chief Arvind Kejriwal, LDF leader and Kerala CM Pinarayi Vijayan, RJD leader Tejashwi Yadav, NCP chief Sharad Pawar.

The message they wanted to send in the 'historic' meeting was 'there will be a big change in 2019'. 

 "The leaders have not come here to support me but to give a message that there will be a big change in 2019," had said HD Kumaraswamy after he took oath as the chief minister of Karnataka during the gathering.

Mamata Banerjee had even warned the NDA about fighting her in the polls. "...There is a saying in Hindi what workers and farmers use --o humse takraayega, choor choor ho jayega." (Whoever clashes against us will get crushed)

WATCH: "Jo humse takraayega, woh choor-choor ho jayega", warns Mamata Banerjee standing shoulder-to-shoulder with Chandrababu Naidu

The idea was to come together and form a mahagathbandhan for the Lok Sabha elections in order to defeat the BJP and its allies. 

Initiatives were taken and later halted, first by Mamata Banerjee, later by Chandrababu Naidu, to form an alliance with the belief that they will win the required number of votes. 

But the Congress and other parties Samajwadi Party, Bahujan Samaj Party, CPI(M), LDF, NCP look like they are barely scraping through in the elections. 

One year has passed but the aspiration of the 'big change' seems to be blown to smithereens due to the mammoth leads taken in by the NDA in over 340 seats in the Lok Sabha.

While the NDA is leading in over 342 seats, the parties who were hoping to form the mahagathbandhan stand in shambles. 

READ | 2019 Lok Sabha Election Results LIVE Updates: Vote-counting For 2019 Indian General Elections, Trends For All 542 Constituencies And Non-stop Analysis From Republic TV And Arnab Goswami Here As India Elects A New Government

Individually, their performance paints the bleak future of the alliance that never took off. Together they are leading in 128 seats. The Congress is leading in 52 seats, RJD in one seat, SP in seven seats, Trinamool in 23 seats, CPI(M) in five seats, DMK in 22 seats, BSP in 11 seats and JD(S) in one seat. 

With the results being announced, the mahagathbandhan which never took off as pre-poll coalition, now, is being shown the reality from the ground, as it is being virtually decimated. That, people, have chosen a 'Majboot' and not a 'Majboor government.

Watch Arnab Live on Republic Media Network here.

By 2030, 40% Indian will not have access to drinking water