Indian General Elections

2019 Lok Sabha Elections: India's Sporting Icons Jwala Gutta, PV Sindhu And Vijender Singh Urge Citizens To Cast Their Votes For A Bright Future

Written By Karthik Nair | Mumbai | Published:

As the 2019 Lok Sabha elections begin in the nation on Thursday with the voting for the first phase entailing 91 seats kicking off, the sports fraternity is leaving no stone unturned in making people aware of their rights to cast their vote. 

Badminton sensation Jwala Gutta had come forward and urged citizens to vote wisely for a better nation and for a united India.

She also shared a video after she and her family had voted.

India's first ever Olympic Silver medal winning shuttler PV Sindhu also posted a video and requested the citizens to vote and strengthen democracy.

Olympic Bronze medal winning boxer Vijender Singh has also asked the citizens to cast their precious votes for a better future.

READ: Voting Day Controversies Tracker: As Phase 1 Of The 2019 Lok Sabha Elections Begins Here's What's Stirring Up Controversy

On Thursday morning, Prime Minister Narendra Modi took to social media, urging the voters to turn out for voting in large numbers in the biggest celebration of the democracy. 

He wrote: "2019 Lok Sabha elections commence today. I call upon all those whose constituencies are voting in the first phase today to turn out in record numbers and exercise their franchise. I specially urge young and first-time voters to vote in large numbers."

On April 11, 20 states go to polls with 91 Parliamentary seats in the first Phase of the Lok Sabha elections. 

Below are the states and the number of seats which will go to polls on Thursday.

Andhra Pradesh - 25

Arunachal- 2

Assam - 5

Bihar - 4

Chattisgarh - 7

Jammu Kashmir - 2

Maharashtra - 7

Manipur - 1

Meghalaya - 2

Mizoram - 1

Nagaland - 1

Orissa - 4

Sikkim - 1

Telangana - 17

Tripura - 1

Uttar Pradesh - 8

West Bengal - 2

Andaman Nicobar Islands- 1

Nitin Gadkari, Kiren Rijiju, VK Singh, Mahesh Sharma, Hansraj Ahir, Agatha Sangma, Mukul Sangma, Harish Rawat, Ajay Tamta, Jayant Chaudhary, Satyapal Singh, Nabam Tuki, Renuka Chowdary, Nama Nageswara Rao, Chirag Paswan, Asaduddin Owaisi are some of the key candidates contesting polls during Phase I.

Voting for the 543 Lok Sabha seats is be held in seven phases: April 11, April 18, April 23, April 29, May 6, May 12 and May 19. Counting will be done on May 23.