Indian General Elections

"A Wise Enemy Is Better Than...": Mehbooba Mufti Slams Congress Over Sam Pitroda's 'Hua To Hua' Shocker On 1984 Anti-Sikh Riots

Written By Monica Aggarwal | Mumbai | Published:

PDP chief Mehbooba Mufti has slammed Congress' Indian Overseas chief Sam Pitroda over his shocking 'hua toh hua' against the 1984 anti-Sikh riots. Taking to Twitter, the former Jammu and Kashmir CM stated that while she admires Sam Pitroda for his contributions to India, trivialising the horific 1984 anti-Sikh riots is unaccetable and a self goal for Congress.

She further added that "A wise enemy is better than a foolish friend": 

Shockingly, amid the massive controversy over his "Hua To Hua comment on 1984 anti-Sikh riots, Congress' trusted aide Sam Pitroda did not apologise for his shocking remark and instead attempted to blame his 'poor Hindi' for his remarks. 

He said while interacting with media in Shimla: "My Hindi is not good. What I meant was 'jo hua bura hua'. I couldn't translate 'Bura' in my mind. What I meant was move on."

READ | IT GETS WORSE: 'My Hindi Isn't That Good. I Meant Jo Hua Woh Bura Hua. Move On,' Says Sam Pitroda 24 Hours After '1984 Hua To Hua' Shocker

Meanwhile, the Congress party has issued an official statement in the 'Hua Toh Hua' controversy. Tweeting the press statement, the party's spokesperson Randeep Singh Surjewala wrote that Congress party abhors violence of any kind.

"We continue to support the quest for justice and stern punishment for those found guilty in 1984 riots. Any opinion remarks made by any individual to the contrarty including Sam Pitroda is not the opinion of the Congress party. The party believes that justices should be done to 1984 riots victims and also to 2002 Gujarat riots victims," the statement reads.

READ | Congress Issues Statement Attacking BJP While Simultaneously Distancing Itself From Sam Pitroda's '1984 Mein Hua To Hua' Shocker. Read Here


Republic World brings you comprehensive election news coverage and phase-by-phase election updates of the Indian General Elections 2019. The 2019 Lok Sabha Elections will be held from April 11 to May 19 in seven phases, with the counting of votes scheduled for May 23. Get all the latest election news, highlights, controversies, polls, live updates and results of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019, only on Republic World.

Trending in Politics - Narendra Modi, Rahul Gandhi, Amit ShahMamata BanerjeeYogi Adityanath