Indian General Elections

AIPC Releases Gully-boy Parody Titled 'Apna Time Aayega Pakka', Days Ahead Of Lok Sabha Polls

Written By Suchitra Karthikeyan | Mumbai | Published:


  • AIPC has released Gully-boy Parody titled 'Apna Time Aayega Pakka', days ahead of Lok Sabha polls
  • Earlier Congress had released a rap song titled 'Azadi' criticizing the Modi Government , days after Gully Boys release
  • In retaliation BJP too had released a rap song listing Modi's achievements called 'Banda apna sahi hai'

As the battle of the Lok Sabha polls heats up, the political parties have moved their confrontations to social media, with the All India Professionals'Congress (AIPC) releasing yet another 'Gully Boy' themed rap song on Wednesday.

As April 11 looms and the model code of conduct in place, AIPC has released a parody titled - Apna time Aayega Pakka. This is based on the song- 'Apna time aayega' with Ranveer Singh's 'Murad' a.k.a Gully Boy replaced with the Congress president a.k.a Rahul Gandhi. The video portrays that the same angst felt by Murad about his society and life is mirrored by Rahul Gandhi. AIPC's tweeted this declaring that 'It’s the time for Change, time for a new beginning.'


With the release of Zoya Akhtar's 'Gully Boy', the underground Indian rap scene has picked up tremendously. Rap songs highlighting the angst of the common man and the trials he faces every day has become the new norm. Immediately after the release of the movie both parties - the Congress and the BJP, had released rap videos in 'Apna time aayega' style. 

Released on February 8, The Congress' rap video criticized the BJP government for the last five years, urging the youth to fight for 'Azadi' from Modi. Watch the video here:


The most talked about video on social media!

A post shared by Congress (@incindia) on

In retaliation, on February 13, BJP had released a rap song titled - 'Banda Apna Sahi hai'- speaking of the achievements and hard work of Modi, urging voters to remember who brought different schemes in India before the polls. The BJP's twitter handle had released the song:

Watch the video here:

The Lok Sabha Election will take place in seven phases for all the 29 states and seven Union Territories beginning from April 11 to May 7, 2019. The results will be announced on May 23, 2019.