Indian General Elections

BJP President Amit Shah Takes The Party's Campaign Forward In Odisha; Will Launch Manifesto For 'New Odisha'

Written By Navashree Nandini | Mumbai | Published:


  • BJP president Amit Shah is taking forward the fierce campaign by the party in Odisha and Maharashtra on Sunday.

A day after Prime Minister Narendra Modi addressed election rallies at Sonepur and Sundergarh in Odisha, BJP president Amit Shah is taking forward the fierce campaign in the state on Sunday. 

He will launch a manifesto for 'New Odisha' in the state's capital and address public gatherings at three venues. Later he is also scheduled to visit the Naxal belt of Gadchiroli and the district of Chandrapur in Maharashtra.  

READ: Amit Shah Holds Roadshow In Ahmedabad, Says 'entire Kashmir Is Ours'

In Odisha, the BJP president will address public gatherings at Jagannath Field, Belgaum and Polasara districts of Odisha. He will also launch the 'Sankalp Patra' (manifesto) for New Odisha in Bhubaneswar.

Shah in his address in a rally at Paralakhemundi (Odisha) on April 1 urged the people of Odisha to uproot the Naveen Patnaik-led BJD government and vote in favour of the BJP for the development of the state.

On Saturday, PM Modi is his rallies at Sonepur and Sundergarh districts of the state claimed that the BJD government in the state in 20 years and Congress government at the Centre in decades were not able to do as much work as the BJP government did in their tenure since 2014. 

READ: BJD Lacks "Sahi Niti And Sahi Niyat": Prime Minister Narendra Modi

The BJP is aiming to register victory in more than 120 assembly constituencies of the state.

Elections in Odisha are scheduled to be held in four phases beginning from April 11. Senior BJP leaders including PM Modi and Amit Shah have earlier held many rallies in the state which sends 21 members to the Lok Sabha and has 147 assembly seats.

READ: Lok Sabha 2019 Election Dates: Counting To Be Held On 23 May - Here's The Full Schedule For The 2019 Parliamentary Polls For All Phases As Announced By The Election Commission