Congress Gives In To Jitin Prasada's Demand After Speculations Of Him Jumping From Congress To BJP, Will Contest From Lucknow

Indian General Elections

Sources have told Republic TV that Congress has been now forced to bend to the demands of Jitin Prasada. 

Written By Aishwaria Sonavane | Mumbai | Updated On:

Sources have told Republic TV that Congress has been now forced to bend to the demands of Jitin Prasada. 

Prasada, who was speculated to jump the ship from Congress to BJP, after having a word with Rahul Gandhi will be contesting from the Lucknow seat in Uttar Pradesh, as per sources. 

Considering the update, in Uttar Pradesh's Lucknow, it will be a Rajnath Singh versus Jitin Prasada contest for the upcoming General Elections. 

The Congress leader was questioned by the media upon the rumours of him quitting the party and moving to BJP, to which he gave a cryptic reponse, and while he did not consolidate on the claims, the leader refused to even douse the speculations.

READ| 'Hardly Hypothetical, Why Not Deny?': Omar Abdullah Rebuts Jitin Prasada's Cryptic Response Over Jumping From Congress To BJP

Calling the claims 'hypothetical' he refused to clear the air over the speculations.

He said, "Where is this coming from? If they are saying in the evening, I will join then its evening already. You ask them."

"No, why should I answer hypothetical questions," he said before walking away. 

The development was especially critical given that Prasada had campaigned closely with Priyanka Gandhi Vadra in the short time that she has been an official member of the Congress. Further, he is the latest in what is quickly becoming a long list of Congress leaders to jump ship, the most recent being long-time Congress loyalist Tom Vadakkan.

Jitin Prasada had held three ministries in under the UPA governments, starting with being MoS Steel, then MoS Petroleum and Natural Gas, then MoS Road Transport and Highways, and finally, MoS in the Human Resources Development ministry.

Prasada, now 45, is a Congress long-timer given his age, having joined the Youth Congress in 2001. He won his first election to the Lok Sabha in 2004 from Uttar Pradesh's Shahjahanpur, and then again five years later from Dhaurara. However, following the Congress' debacle in the 2014 elections, he also failed to win his election to the Uttar Pradesh assembly in 2017.

WATCH: Priyanka Gandhi Vadra Hits Back At PM Modi's 'Congress Dynasty Over Institutions' Attack

By 2030, 40% Indians will not have access to drinking water