Indian General Elections

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 | 'Go Out There And Vote, It's Your Right': Sania Mirza Practices What She Preaches

Written By Karthik Nair | Mumbai | Published:


  • Tennis star Sania Mirza has urged the Indian citizens to go out and cast their votes
  • The Tennis icon had posted a selfie after having cast her vote in the 2019 elections
  • The Indian seventh-phase Indian General Elections got underway on Thursday

The sporting fraternity is taking a keen interest in urging the citizens to come forward and cast their precious votes for a bright future. Badminton sensation Jwala Gutta and two Olympic medallists young shuttler PV Sindhu and boxing icon Vijender Singh had given a reminder to the people about the importance of voting. Then, two retired sportspersons who are currently active in politics Bhaichung Bhutia and Mohammad Azharuddin had also cast their votes. 

Tennis icon Sania Mirza has also taken the initiative of letting the people know about their rights. She posted her picture on Twitter after she had cast her vote. 

In the picture, Mirza can be seen with an 'inked' index finger, indicating that she has cast her vote.

READ: Former Indian Captain And Telangana Congress Chief Mohammad Azharuddin Casts His Vote In Hyderabad

Earlier, Jwala Gutta had urged the people to vote for a bright future after she had cast her vote along with her family.

Bhaichung Bhutia has also got in on the electoral action. The ex-striker who had also founded his own party, the 'Hamro Sikkim', last year posted his photograph on Twitter after he casting his vote and urged people to exercise their right to vote in order to elect a good representative for themselves.

Voting for the 543 Lok Sabha seats is be held in seven phases: April 11, April 18, April 23, April 29, May 6, May 12 and May 19. Counting will be done on May 23.

Slick Catch: Quinton De Kock Shell-shocked After His South African Teammate David Miller Takes A Stunning Catch To Dismiss Him


Republic World brings you comprehensive election news coverage and phase-by-phase election updates of the Indian General Elections 2019. The 2019 Lok Sabha Elections will be held from April 11 to May 19 in seven phases, with the counting of votes scheduled for May 23. Get all the latest election news, highlights, controversies, polls, live updates and results of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019, only on Republic World.

Trending in Politics - Narendra Modi, Rahul Gandhi, Amit ShahMamata BanerjeeYogi Adityanath