Lok Sabha Elections 2019: Here Is Your Guide For The Biggest Contests In The North-East States On May 23

Indian General Elections

With only five days left for May 23, when the results of the Lok Sabha election 2019 will be declared, the nation is on the threshold of welcoming a new government.

Written By Navashree Nandini | Mumbai | Updated On:

With only five days left for May 23, when the results of the Lok Sabha election 2019 will be declared, the nation is on the threshold of welcoming a new government. While 59 seats across 8 states go to polls in the last phase of the Lok Sabha elections 2019, other states are eagerly waiting for the results.

As the day approaches, northeastern states are one among the keenly watched contests, with the BJP intending to make inroads in the states and Congress trying to continue its position in the states.

Here's a list:

  1. Assam: The most interesting contest is in Assam's Dhubri constituency which is the bastion of AIUDF. However, there seems to be disillusionment with AIUDF among its core voters - the Bengali speaking Muslims of Lower Assam. AIUDF chief Badruddin Ajmal is contesting against Congress candidate is Abu Tehar Bapari, a two time MLA from Gokolganj. BJP is not contesting with ally AGP contesting under NDA colours from the seat. Its candidate is Javed Islam, who is son of veteran Congress leader from the district Zehirul Islam. The Trinamool too has fielded a strong candidate in lawyer Nurul Islam Chaudhary, who was with AIUDF previously. BJP won 7 out of 14 seats in the state.

  2. Arunachal Pradesh: The most interesting contest is in Arunachal West. Union Minister and one of the most popular faces in the Modi government, Kiren Rijiju, is seeking re-election from this seat. He is up against a formidable opponent in former Arunachal Pradesh CM Nabam Tuki. Jarjum Ete of JD(S),  Khoda Apik of the National Peoples' Party (NPP) are also candidates that are expected to get traction among voters.
  3. Manipur: JD(U) has fielded Hangkhanpau Taithul and NPP has nominated Thangminlien Kipgen, whereas BJP has fielded Benjamin Mate from outer Manipur. Though, both JD(U) and NPP are BJP allies, they are not in alliance with the party in Manipur and are contesting against the BJP in the Lok Sabha election.
  4. Meghalaya: All eyes here are on the Tura parliamentary constituency, which is witnessing a straight fight between PA Sangma’s family and his one-time blue-eyed boy and former chief minister from Congress Mukul Sangma and PA Sangma’s daughter and sitting MP Agatha Sangma who is National Peoples’ Party (NPP) candidate. Looking to break the stranglehold of Sangma family, Congress has fielded former CM Mukul Sangma and BJP has fielded state vice president Rikman G Momin as their candidate. Interestingly, BJP is a part of the NPP government in the state but in the Lok Sabha elections, NPP is contesting solo in the Lok Sabha election.
  5. Mizoram: Two cornered fight in the lone seat of Mizoram with the ruling Mizo National Front nominating C Lalrosanga and Cong-ZPM alliance fielding Lalnghinglova Hmar. Though APM and Congress fought the assembly elections against each other they sealed a deal against the BJP and its allies for the Lok Sabha elections as BJP has started making inroads in the state and won one seat in assembly elections in 2018.
  6. Nagaland: First time in 15 years Naga People's Front, a party that has dominated Nagaland politics has not fielded any candidate in the Lok Sabha polls. Four candidates are in the fray for the one seat in Nagaland, namely former Chief Minister K L Chishi from Congress, sitting MP Tokheho Yepthomi from Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP), which is supported by BJP, Hayithung Tungoe from National People's Party (NPP) and M.M Thromwa Konyak of Indian Christian Secular Party (ICSP), who is running as an independent. It is the first time in 15 years that NPF has not backed BJP in the state; and the first time it will support arch-rival’s Congress’s candidate, veteran leader K L Chishi.
  7. Tripura: From Tripura West Lok Sabha constituency, BJP candidate from is Pratima Bhowmick and she is up against former BJP vice president Subal Bhowmick who joined Congress and is contesting from here. Sitting Left MP, CPIM's  Shankar Prasad Dutta is also in contention. For IPFT, Brishketu Debbarman who is an MLA will be contesting. IPFT is in alliance with BJP in the state and came to power a year ago in March 2018.
  8. Sikkim: Though not a part of seven sisters of the northeast, Sikkim's lone Lok Sabha seat since 1996, has been bagged by the ruling Sikkim Democratic Front (SDF). This year, SDF has fielded DB Katwal instead of sitting MP Prem Das Rai, who is a two-time MP from the state. The Sikkim Krantikari Morcha (SKM) has fielded Indrahand Subba to fight against Katwal. Another party that will be contesting for Sikkim's lone Lok Sabha seat is former India football legend Bhaichung Bhutia's Hamro Sikkim Party.

MUST READ: 10 Sensational Republic Media Newsbreaks That Set The Agenda In The 2019 Lok Sabha Elections


By 2030, 40% Indians will not have access to drinking water