Indian General Elections

'May The Second Innings Be Even Better And India Continues To Reach Greater Heights': Virender Sehwag, Harbhajan Singh, VVS Laxman Hail PM Narendra Modi As NDA Hits The Ball Out Of The Park

Written By Karthik Nair | Mumbai | Published:


  • As the BJP nears a dominant win in 2019 Lok Sabha Elections, the cricketing fraternity came forward to congratulate the Prime Minister Narendra Modi on social media
  • Veteran Indian cricketers VVS Laxman, Harbhajan Singh and Virender Sehwag sent their congratulatory messages to Modi after BJP's dominance in the General Election Results

The day that the nation was waiting for, the General Election Results, the make-or-break for both the Government and the Opposition, has sprung a result on expected lines. The counting for the Lok Sabha elections kicked at 8 am on Thursday and within the first few minutes itself, it was also clear which party is likely to form the next Indian government.

As the BJP nears a dominant win in 2019 Lok Sabha Elections, the cricketing fraternity came forward to congratulate Prime Minister Narendra Modi on social media.

The veteran off-spinner Harbhajan Singh took to Twitter and congratulated Modi as well as BJP president Amit Shah and BJP for winning the elections in style.

At the same time, Bhajji also congratulated former BCCI president and BJP's sitting MP from Hamirpur Anurag Thakur after he won the seat in Himachal Pradesh in the ongoing Lok Sabha elections. 

The 2011 World Cup-winner also congratulated one of his best friends and Indian team-mate Gautam Gambhir after the former opening batsman was leading the East Delhi constituency.

READ: 'Phir Ek Baar Modi Sarkaar', exults badminton icon Saina Nehwal as Prime Minister Narendra Modi closes in on a massive victory in 2019 Lok

One of India's most dependable batsmen during his playing days VVS Laxman also came forward to congratulate Narendra Modi. Laxman took to Twitter and wished him on a resounding victory. The former cricketer also sincerely hoped that India prospers under his leadership in the next five years.

Former Indian vice-captain Virender Sehwag also showered praises on Modi. Viru took to Twitter and congratulated Narendra Modi on being the leader of this great victory. The former Delhi batsman wrote that India has won. The world's largest democracy has given its mandate. Sehwag then hoped for the second innings of Modi's reign as Prime Minister to be even better so that India continues to progress and reach greater heights.

READ: "Congrats to Indian's biggest uniter": Ekta Kapoor's message to Prime Minister Narendra Modi as BJP inches towards a stunning victory in 2019