Indian General Elections

Vasudhaiva Kutumbakam, Continuous Dialogue With Indian Diaspora, Permanent UNSC Membership: Here Are The BJP's 2019 Manifesto Promises On Foreign Policy

Written By Aliza Noor | Mumbai | Published:


  • Prime Minister Narendra Modi released the BJP's election manifesto 'Sankalp Patra' just a few days before the 17th General Elections begin
  • In the manifesto, through which PM Modi hopes to reach '130 crore Indians,' an entire section has been dedicated to the party's vision for 'Foreign Policy'
  • It also states, 'Sab ka Sath, Sab ka Vikas remains our guiding principle.'

Prime Minister Narendra Modi released the much-anticipated BJP election manifesto - 'Sankalp Patra' - for the upcoming 2019 Lok Sabha polls on Monday. The manifesto that states the party's agenda right from 'Foreign Policy' to 'Youth and Education' was released in the presence of party president Amit Shah and other senior party leaders including Union Ministers Sushma Swaraj, Arun Jaitley and Rajnath Singh at the party's headquarters in New Delhi. 

In terms of 'Foreign Policy' the manifesto explicitly states the party's outlook regarding India's global standing and states, "We believe that India's time has come. She is emerging as a power and connecting stakeholders in a multi-polar world. The rise of India is the new reality and we shall play a major role in shaping global agenda in the 21st century." 

This section has stated the basis and primary focus that the party seeks to formulate their foreign policies on. They have further segregated it into seven sections, namely:

1 'Vasudhaiva Kutumbakam'
2. Global Coordination on Knowledge and Technology
3. Continuous Dialogue with Indians Living Abroad
4. Combating Terrorism through Global Forums
5. Deeper Multilateral Co-operation
6. Permanent membership of the United Nations Security Council (UNSC)
7. Strengthening the Diplomatic Cadre and Outreach

"International relations are based on mutual understanding and cooperation," says PM Modi in the manifesto.

This is what BJP's official Twitter account posted:

Lok Sabha polls will take place in seven phases for all the 29 states and seven Union Territories beginning from April 11 to May 7, 2019. The results will be announced on May 23, 2019.

READ: BJP Releases Its Election Manifesto For 2019 Polls, Here's PM Modi's Letter To 130 Crore Indians In The 'Sankalp Patra'

BJP Promises Rs 100 Lakh Crore Capital Investment By 2024: Here's The '$5 Trillion - World's 3rd Largest Economy' Roadmap In Its 2019 Election Manifesto


Republic World brings you comprehensive election news coverage and phase-by-phase election updates of the Indian General Elections 2019. The 2019 Lok Sabha Elections will be held from April 11 to May 19 in seven phases, with the counting of votes scheduled for May 23. Get all the latest election news, highlights, controversies, polls, live updates and results of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019, only on Republic World.

Trending in Politics - Narendra Modi, Rahul Gandhi, Amit ShahMamata BanerjeeYogi Adityanath