Indian General Elections

WATCH: Here's What Baba Ramdev Had To Say About The 'wave' In The Country While Walking To Cast His Vote In The 2019 Lok Sabha Elections

Written By Aishwaria Sonavane | Mumbai | Published:


  • He further added how the votes should be cast for those who keep the country secure and contribute to its wellbeing. 

As the country goes to exercise its role in the largest democracy in the first phase of Lok Sabha elections, Ramdev Baba while walking to cast his vote speaking to Republic TV sent a message to the voters. 

When asked about the 'wave', Ramdev just responded saying 'sahi chal rahi hai lehar' (the wave is going right), and asked the voters to cast their votes for those who have the right 'intentions, policies, leadership and character'

He further added how the votes should be cast for those who keep the country secure and contribute to its wellbeing. 

READ| SHOCKING: Minutes After Lok Sabha Polls Begin, Arvind Kejriwal Makes Shameful Pulwama Conspiracy Remark

He said, "The wave is going right, who's intentions, leadership, policies and character is good. Those who contribute for the country and in the hands of those where the country is safe, they should be voted."

Ramdev Baba will be casting his vote in Uttrakhand's Haridwar. 

The former chief minister of the state and BJP leader Ramesh Pokhriyal Nishank will be re-contesting from the constituency and will be facing Ambrish Kumar of Congress, and BSP's Antriksh Saini. 

The polls will see seats from where high profile candidates (including Union Ministers) are fighting.

Nitin Gadkari, Kiren Rijiju, VK Singh, Mahesh Sharma, Hansraj Ahir, Agatha Sangma, Mukul Sangma, Harish Rawat, Ajay Tamta, Jayant Chaudhary, Satyapal Singh, Nabam Tuki, Renuka Chowdary, Nama Nageswara Rao, Chirag Paswan, Asaduddin Owaisi are some of the key candidates contesting polls during Phase I.

READ| 2019 Lok Sabha Elections Begin: India Goes To Polls For Phase 1 Of General Elections - Voting To Be Held For 91 Seats

Poll Timings: 

Polling will be held in 91 out of 543 Lok Sabha constituencies spread over 20 states and Union Territories in the first phase on Thursday. 

The voting time in most of the Parliamentary Constituencies going to polls in the first phase is between 7am-6pm. However, in certain sensitive areas and North East States the timings will vary from 7am-5pm/ 7am-4pm/ 7am-3pm.