Indian General Elections

WATCH: Thousands Resonate With PM Modi's 'Chowkidar' Call Not Once, Not Twice, But 22 Times

Written By Navashree Nandini | Mumbai | Published:


  • Prime Minsiter Narendra Modi addressed a poll-rally at BKC's MMRDA grounds in Mumbai
  • 'Chowkidar' chorus by a massive crowd in the MMRDA grounds gave another significant signal of the 'Modi-wave' after Varanasi roadshow of the PM

With the country preparing for the remaining phases of Lok Sabha elections, political campaigning has geared up, and so has the enthusiasm of the voters. After filing his nomination at Varanasi in Uttar Pradesh on Friday, Prime Minister Modi addressed a poll-rally at BKC's MMRDA grounds in Mumbai.

The talks of Modi-wave is back in mainstream after unprecedented sea of saffron was witnessed on the streets of Varanasi at PM Narendra Modi's Varanasi roadshow. Right a day after it, in Mumbai's BKC rally, 'Chowkidar' chorus of the massive crowd gave another significant signal of the 'Modi-wave.' 

When PM Modi asked if the crowd will chant the 'Chowkidar' slogan along with him, the crowd responded and once it began, there was no stopping the back-and-forth. 

With every prefix by the PM, the crowd shouted 'Chowkidar', continuing for more than 20 times. This was followed by slogans of 'Modi Modi'.

The deafening back and forth went on as:

Gaon gaon hai (every village): Chowkidar

Seher Seher hai (every town): Chowkidar

Bacha Bacha (every child): Chowkidar

Bade Buzurg bhi (elder and old): Chowkidar

Mata Behne (mothers and sisters): Chowkidar


Ghar Ghar mein hai (in every house): Chowkidar

Khet Khaliyan mein(in field and farm): Chowkidar

Bag bagan me( in garden and nursury): Chowkidar


Desh k andar(in our country): Chowkidar


Sarhad par bhi (on our borders): Chowkidar


Doctor Engineers: Chowkidar

Shikshak professor (Teachers and professors): Chowkidar


Lekhak Patrakar (writers and journalists): Chowkidar


Kalakar bhi(artists are): Chowkidar


Kisan Kaamgar (farmers and workers): Chowkidar

Dukandar bhi (shopkeepers are): Chowkidar

Vakil Vyapari(Lawyers and businessmen): Chowkidar


Chatra Chatrayein (students are): Chowkidar


Pura Hindutan (India is): Chowkidar


Pura Hindutan (India is): Chowkidar

Pura Hindutan (India is): Chowkidar

Bharat Mata Ki Jai

Bharat Mata Ki Jai

​​​​​​​Bharat Mata Ki Jai


The Prime Minister took to Twitter to express his delight in interacting with the people of Mumbai. 

READ: ‘I Am Here To Support Our Country’: Anant Ambani Spotted At PM Narendra Modi's Rally In Mumbai

Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis also expressed his gratitude for Prime Minister's visit.

Earlier on the same day in Varanasi, Prime Minister Modi filed his nomination papers for the Varanasi Lok Sabha seat accompanied by a galaxy of top BJP and NDA leaders in what was a massive show of strength for the country's ruling alliance.

The NDA allies present for the Prime Minister's nomination were Bihar Chief Minister and JD-U chief Nitish Kumar, Union minister and LJP chief Ram Vilas Paswan, Shiv Sena supremo Uddhav Thackeray, Shiromani Akali Dal patron Parkash Singh Badal, party president Amit Shah, Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath and senior Union ministers Rajnath Singh, Nitin Gadkari and Sushma Swaraj. Apart from them, AIADMK leaders O Pannerselvam, M Thambidurai, and Nagaland Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio were also present.

WATCH: Here's What The Great Khali Said About PM Modi As He Campaigned For The BJP In Kolkata

On Thursday, PM Modi conducted a mega roadshow which started at 5:15 PM with the garlanding of Banaras Hindu University (BHU) founder Madan Mohan Malaviya's statue. Travelling with a massive entourage, the Prime Minister passed through a sea of supporters (approximately 6 lakh people) thronging to see him and progressed on his 7 km long roadshow from the Malaviya statue to the Dashashwamedha Ghat.

South Mumbai will go to polls in the fourth phase of the Lok Sabha polls on April 29. The general elections are being held in seven phases in all, with May 19 being the last one, and the counting of votes will be done on May 23.