Brought to you by


Your browser does not support the canvas element.



Indian General Elections

WATCH: Using 'boxer' Metaphor, Rahul Gandhi Attacks PM Modi Alleging Ill-treatment Meted Out To Advani, Gadkari And Jaitley

Written By Aishwaria Sonavane | Mumbai | Published:


  • In an address in Bhiwani's Haryana, the Congress president making a metaphorical allegation, stated that Prime Minister Modi 'punched his own Guru' and removed him. 

Stoking yet another controversy as the country walks into the fifth phase of Parliamentary elections, Rahul Gandhi in an attempt to hit at Prime Minister Narendra Modi cited patron LK Advani. 

In an address in Bhiwani's Haryana, the Congress president making a metaphorical allegation, stated that Prime Minister Modi "punched his own Guru" and removed him. 

An animated Rahul Gandhi called PM Modi a 'boxer' who instead of fighting unemployement, argarian crisis and corruption, punched his own guru and colleagues, Union Minister Nitin Gadkari.  

He said, "In the last elections, in India, a boxer was put in the ring. A boxer with a chest of 56 inches got in the ring. Narendra Modi the boxer was supposed to fight unemployment, farmer problems,corruption etc." 

"But he instead turned around and punched his coach Advani ji, his team Gadkari ji, Jaitley ji, then went into crowd and punched small traders and farmers," he added.  

WATCH | 'Shockingly Insulting': Congress Leadership Reprimands PM Modi's 'No. 1 Corrupt' Comment Against Former PM Rajiv Gandhi

With the political discourse widenening to full-fledged campaigning underway across the country, India moved  into its fifth phase of polling on Monday in 51 parliamentary constituencies spread across seven states.

The ruling Trinamool Congress, the BJP, the Congress and Left Front constituent CPI(M) are the main contenders in the seven seats where the fate of candidates will be decided by a 1,16,91,889-strong electorate.

With 7 states, 51 seats and 674 candidates in fray, the states that will go to polls on Monday are- 

  • Uttar Pradesh: Dhaurahra, Sitapur, Mohanlalganj, Lucknow, Rae Bareli, Amethi, Banda, Fatehpur, Kaushambi, Barabanki, Faizabad, Bahraich, Kaiserganj and Gonda
  • Rajasthan: Ganganagar, Bikaner, Churu, Jhunjhunu, Sikar, Jaipur Rural, Jaipur, Alwar, Bharatpur, Karauli-Dholpur, Dausa and Nagaur
  • West Bengal: Bangaon, Barrackpore, Howrah, Uleberia, Sreerampur, Hooghly and Arambag
  • Madhya Pradesh: Tikamgarh, Damoh, Khajuraho, Satna, Rewa, Hoshangabad and Betul
  • Bihar: Sitamarhi, Madhubani, Muzaffarpur, Saran and Hajipur
  • Jammu and Kashmir: Ladakh and Anantnag
  • Jharkhand: Kodarma, Ranchi, Khunti and Hazaribagh

In another first, VVPATs will be used in all the polling booths along with the EVMs, EC sources told PTI.

WATCH: "Will Die But Will Never Use Blood Of Our Martyrs And The Army For Political Gains," Says Rahul Gandhi Accusing PM Modi Of Politicising The Forces


Republic World brings you comprehensive election news coverage and phase-by-phase election updates of the Indian General Elections 2019. The 2019 Lok Sabha Elections will be held from April 11 to May 19 in seven phases, with the counting of votes scheduled for May 23. Get all the latest election news, highlights, controversies, polls, live updates and results of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019, only on Republic World.

Trending in Politics - Narendra Modi, Rahul Gandhi, Amit ShahMamata BanerjeeYogi Adityanath