Indian General Elections

"Your Vote Is Precious": Here's PM Modi Message To Citizens As He Prepares To Cast His Vote In Third Phase Of 2019 Lok Sabha Elections

Written By Monica Aggarwal | Mumbai | Published:

With 117 Lok Sabha seats across 13 states and two union territories are going to polls, the third phase of the Lok Sabha polls has kickstarted on Tuesday in the country. Urging the people of the nation to vote in the third phase of 2019 Lok Sabha elections in record numbers, Prime Minister Narendra Modi took to Twitter calling out people to cast their "precious votes" that will shape the direction of the nations in the years to come.

He also stated that he will be voting in Ahmedabad in a short while. 

READ: As Second Phase Of 2019 Lok Sabha Polls Begin, Here's PM Modi's Message To Citizens Of India

Earlier in the first phase of elections, PM Modi has urged the young and first-time voters to cast their vote in large numbers and exercise their franchise.

READ | 2019 Lok Sabha Elections: India Goes To Polls For Phase 3 Of General Elections- Voting To Be Held For 117 Seats

In the biggest phase (third) of 2019 General Elections, the stakes are high for the ruling BJP and its allies with prominent seats, including all constituencies in Gujarat and Kerala going to polls. BJP president Amit Shah from Gandhinagar, Congress chief Rahul Gandhi (Wayanad) and several Union ministers among prominent candidates in the fray.

Besides all seats in Gujarat (26) and Kerala (20), voting will be held in four seats in Assam, five in Bihar, seven in Chhattisgarh, 14 each in Karnataka and Maharashtra, six in Odisha, 10 in Uttar Pradesh, five in West Bengal, two in Goa, and one each in Dadra and Nagar Haveli, Daman and Diu and Tripura in the third phase of Lok Sabha polls. 

About 18.56 crore voters are eligible for voting in this phase and the Election Commission has set up 2.10 lakh polling booths/stations and has made elaborate security arrangements.

The Lok Sabha polls are being held in seven-phases for 543 seats and the counting of votes will be on May 23.


(With PTI inputs)