Karnataka Lok Sabha Elections

Congress Calls Out Fake Sonia Gandhi-MB Patil Letter Posted By Karnataka BJP, Says Will Take Legal Action

Written By Navashree Nandini | Mumbai | Published:

In a big election controversy on Tuesday morning, the Twitter account of the BJP Karnataka posted a letter by claiming to be from Congress leader and Karnataka MB Patil to UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi dated July 7, 2017, in which a strategy was outlined to use a divide-and-conquer approach towards religion and caste in order to benefit politically ahead of the 2018 assembly elections in the state.

However, the letter has been proven to be fake, and not just recently. It had reportedly been circulated ahead of the 2018 elections as well.

The Congress has called out the BJP of spreading fake news, calling it a desperate attempt to seize the vote-bank in Karnataka.

READ: Murli Manohar Joshi Seeks EC Probe Into Circulation Of Fake Letter In His Name

The fake letter sees Patil informing Sonia Gandhi about a meeting he and a few ministers held with representatives of the Global Christian Council and World Islamic Organisation regarding “strategy to be adopted” for the Karnataka assembly elections, all of which involved polarisation.

It was shared by the BJP Karnataka on Monday morning saying that Congress has been exposed.

The Congress has said it will initiate legal action over the letter: 

READ: Maneka Gandhi Drops A-B-C-D Category System To Divide Villages As Per Votes Received, Days After Controversial "won't Help Muslim" Remark



Republic World brings you comprehensive election news coverage and phase-by-phase election updates of the Indian General Elections 2019. The 2019 Lok Sabha Elections will be held from April 11 to May 19 in seven phases, with the counting of votes scheduled for May 23. Get all the latest election news, highlights, controversies, polls, live updates and results of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019, only on Republic World.

Trending in Politics - Narendra Modi, Rahul Gandhi, Amit ShahMamata BanerjeeYogi Adityanath