Karnataka Lok Sabha Elections

WATCH: What's The Word On Bengaluru's Streets Ahead Of The 2019 Polls Hitting Karnataka?

Written By Urvee Koyari | Mumbai | Published:


  • Republic TV has spoken to residents of Bengaluru about the 2019 polls and more

With the commencement of 2019 Lok Sabha Elections, Republic TV spoke to the citizens of Bengaluru to assess the pulse of the people ahead of Karnataka’s first phase of the polls.

On asking the citizens for their views on the elections, Republic TV's team received a wide array of responses. While some people seemed very happy with the central government's work over the last five years, others weren't as impressed.

As a voter applauded the government's efforts towards cleanliness in the country with the ‘Swachh Bharat Abhiyan’, as well as other schemes like the 'Ujjwala Yojana’, another contradicted the view.

READ | Alongside Man Who Defeated Him, Former Karnataka CM Siddaramaiah Says He Will Never Again Contest From Chamundeshwari; Beseeches Party Workers To Defeat BJP

When asked on Women’s reservation among other talking points included in the BJP Manifesto ‘Sankalp Patra’, the citizens bought up the government's ‘Beti Bachao-Beti Padhao’ campaign, initiating how the status of women has improved under the current govt.

From Mudra Yojana to the topic of Triple Talaq, the voters shared their views.

READ | National Approval Ratings: In 28-seat Karnataka, NDA Projected To Edge Ahead In A Neck-to-neck Contest With UPA

Karnataka is set to vote in two phases. In the second of seven phases in the 2019 elections, on April 18, polls will be held in Karnataka for 14 constituencies including Udupi, Chikmagalur, Hassan, Dakshina Kannada, Chitradurga, Tumkur, Mandya, Mysore, Chamarajanagar, Bangalore Rural, Bangalore North, Bangalore Central, Bangalore South, Chikkballapur, Kolar.

The remaining 14 constituencies of Chikkodi, Belgaum, Bagalkot, Bijapur, Gulbarga, Raichur, Bidar, Koppal, Bellary, Haveri, Dharwad, Uttara Kannada, Davanagere, Shimoga will vote in the third phase on April 23.

The polling has begun in seven phases for all the 29 states and seven Union Territories from April 11 and will lead up to May 7, 2019. The results for the same will be announced on May 23, 2019.


Republic World brings you comprehensive election news coverage and phase-by-phase election updates of the Indian General Elections 2019. The 2019 Lok Sabha Elections will be held from April 11 to May 19 in seven phases, with the counting of votes scheduled for May 23. Get all the latest election news, highlights, controversies, polls, live updates and results of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019, only on Republic World.

Trending in Politics - Narendra Modi, Rahul Gandhi, Amit ShahMamata BanerjeeYogi Adityanath