You Don't Have 200 Seats Even In 5 States: Jyotiraditya Scindia Taunts Shivraj Singh Chouhan 

Madhya Pradesh Election News

It was an absolute thriller as the counting of votes in Madhya Pradesh lasted for more than 14 hours and the trends remained fluctuating throughout the day.

Written By Daamini Sharma | Mumbai | Updated On:

It was an absolute thriller as the counting of votes in Madhya Pradesh lasted for more than 14 hours and the trends remained fluctuating throughout the day. However, a resurgent Congress won the Madhya Pradesh Assembly Election 2018 in a nail-biting contest. Earlier on Wednesday morning, BJP's three-time Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan announced that he will not stake claim to form government and tender his resignation to the Governor. 

Minutes after the announcement by the  BJP's Shivraj Singh, Congress' Jyotiraditya Madhavrao Scindia attacked the former Chief Minister and said:

"The mandate of people is the highest authority be it in term of winning or loosing. This is the essence of democracy. Today, the people of all three states (Rajasthan, Chhattisgarh and Madhya Pradesh) have given a clear indication to this dysfunctional, corrupt and indisciplined government. And I want to say this to Shivraj Ji that now it's the people's rule in Madhya Pradesh. We will respect the mandate of people and will try to fulfill all the demands of people". 

When asked about who will be the next Chief Minister of Madhya Pradesh, Scindia said:  

"I had only one aim and that was to remove this corrupt government from power. Ww will go with the decision taken by the high command. We all will stand together and fulfill the expectations and demands of our citizens and this my friend is our ultimate aim".

Scindia hits out at Shivraj Singh Chouhan:

"Who says we don't have majority? We have a clear majority. SP, BSP and independent MLA have extended their support to Congress. I don't know how long will the BJP take to accept this. We were trying to explain them for the past 5 year, now it's time for them to understand. Yesterday, he was saying that this time BJP will cross 200. But even if we add the total seats that BJP has won in the five states, it won't reach 200. Telangana, Mizoram, Rajsthan, Chhattisgarh and Madhya Pradesh. Now, they should let go off their ego and stick to their roots. This is my humble request to them."      

All combined, the BJP has 199 states:

  • Telangana- 1 seat
  • Rajasthan- 73 seats
  • Mizoram- 1 seat
  • Madhya Pradesh- 109 seats
  • Chhattisgarh-  15 seats

Bharatiya Janata Party, which was facing an anti-incumbency of 15 years, fell a little short of the majority with 109 seats. Moreover,  Mayawati-led Bahujan Samaj Party and Akhilesh Yadav led Samajwadi Party emerged victorious on 2 and 1 seats, respectively. And both the parties announced that its winning candidates support the Congress.

A delegation of Congress party will meet Governor Anandiben Patel in Bhopal on Wednesday at 12 noon to stake claim to form the next government. The delegation will comprise Congress' state unit chief Kamal Nath, senior leader Digvijaya Singh and Jyotirditya Scindia. 

Read: Congress Stakes Claim To Form Government After ECI Declares Final Madhya Pradesh Results - LIVE Updates

On Tuesday, PM Narendra Modi accepted the defeat in the elections and said that he accepts the mandate of the people.

“The family of BJPKaryakartas worked day and night for the state elections. I salute them for their hardwork. Victory and defeat are an integral part of life. Today’s results will further our resolve to serve people and work even harder for the development of India,” PM Modi tweeted.

Congress chief Rahul Gandhi also spoke to media and thanked his party workers for the efforts they made during the campaign. He also targeted PM Narendra Modi saying that the defeat was clear cut message for the latter.

By 2030, 40% Indians will not have access to drinking water