Madhya Pradesh Lok Sabha Elections

National Approval Ratings: In Madhya Pradesh, NDA Projected To Make A Comeback, UPA To Suffer Reversal

Written By Aliza Noor | Mumbai | Published:


  • Republic TV and CVoter have published the National Approval Ratings - the biggest opinion poll ahead of the Lok Sabha elections
  • The seat-share in Madhya Pradesh is projected to be tilted in favour of the NDA

With just days to go for the first phase of the 2019 Lok Sabha polls, Republic TV and CVoter have published the National Approval Ratings  - the biggest opinion poll ahead of the all-important elections.

Sending 29 seats to the Lok Sabha, Madhya Pradesh is a state coveted state by both Congress and BJP. The battle is likely to get highly interesting on account of the recent assembly election results, when the Congress overturned years of BJP rule to form a government in the state.

Here's the projection for the state of Madhya Pradesh:

Vote share:

UPA: 39.9%
NDA: 47.8%
Others: 12.3%

Seat share:

UPA: 6 seats
NDA: 23 seats
Total: 29 seats

While just months earlier the Congress secured a big win in the assembly elections, the projections for the Madhya Pradesh Lok Sabha elections indicate a big return for the BJP.

In terms of the vote-share, the NDA is likely to lead with 47.8%  followed by UPA with 39.9% - a difference of approximately 8% while others are likely to secure 12.3%. In terms of translating this to seat-share, the NDA is predicted to win 23 seats while the UPA is projected to win just 6 seats. 

READ: 'Tactics' Used By BJP Ahead Upcoming Lok Sabha Polls, Says Madhya Pradesh CM Kamal Nath On I-T Raids Against Close Aides

As far as Madhya Pradesh is concerned, the Chief Minister and Congress leader Kamal Nath had dared Digvijaya Singh to contest the Lok Sabha elections from the 'toughest seat' in the state. Singh is all set to fight the upcoming general elections from the Bhopal constituency. A miss for the BJP this time around will be Lok Sabha Speaker Sumitra Mahajan who is not contesting the Indore Lok Sabha seat she has held since 1989.

In 2014, the BJP had recorded its best performance ever in the state, winning 27 of the 29 Lok Sabha seats in the state with a vote-share of 54%. 

Polls for the 29 seats in the state will be held in four phases during April 29, May 6, May 12 and May 19.