Madhya Pradesh Lok Sabha Elections

R. Bharat-Jan Ki Baat Opinion Poll: BJP Projected To Make Strong Reversal In Madhya Pradesh After Congress' Assembly Election Triumph

Written By Aishwaria Sonavane | Mumbai | Published:


  • Republic Bharat-Jan Ki Baat's Opinion Poll has made an interesting projection for Madhya Pradesh

With just days to go till the country undertakes the largest exercise in democracy anywhere in the world, Republic Bharat and Jan ki Baat have published an Opinion poll to present a snapshot projection of where the various parties stand at the moment in different states

The assembly elections in Madhya Pradesh found Congress on the winning side, however, the projections for the Hindi heartland for the Lok Sabha elections says otherwise as per the poll. 

In a blow to the Congress party, BJP is predicted to secure anywhere between 22-25 seats out of the total 29, while leaving 4-7 for the current ruling party in the state.

As far as vote-share is concerned, BJP is projected to secure 50% of the vote-share, followed by 39% by Congress and 11% for Others.

Seat-share (29 total)

BJP- 15-22
Congress- 4-7


BJP- 50%
Congress- 39%
Others- 11%

READ| Lok Sabha Elections 2019: Voting Dates In Madhya Pradesh: Here's When You Can Vote In Madhya Pradesh

As far as Madhya Pradesh is concerned, the chief minister of the state Kamal Nath had dared senior Congress leader and colleague Digvijay Singh to contest the Lok Sabha elections from the 'toughest seat' in the state, the veteran party leader has been declared as a candidate from the Bhopal constituency. 

In the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, the BJP had won 27 of the total 29 seats except for Guna and Chhindwara constituencies, which were retained by Congress stalwarts Jyotiraditya Scindia and Kamal Nath, respectively.

The 14 Lok Sabha seats which the Congress could not win in this period are Bhopal, Indore, Vidisha, Morena, Bhind, Sagar, Tikamgarh, Damoh, Khajuraho, Satna, Jabalpur, Balaghat, Betul and Rewa.

The BJP has not faced a single defeat since 1989 in Bhopal, Indore, Vidisha, Bhind and Damoh, whereas it has been winning Morena, Sagar, Jabalpur and Betul since 1996.

The Election Commission (EC) has announced a seven-phase schedule for the 2019 Lok Sabha elections starting April 11, with vote-counting scheduled to be held on May 23.

READ| Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Wants Digvijaya Singh To Take Up 'toughest Seat' Lok Sabha Challenge