Maharashtra Lok Sabha Elections

2019 Lok Sabha Election Result North Central Mumbai: In Big-name Battle, Poonam Mahajan Defeats Priya Sunil Dutt Again

Written By Navashree Nandini | Mumbai | Published:


  • Poonam Pramod Mahajan won by a margin of 130005 votes against Priya Sunil Dutt. 

One of the 17 Lok Sabha constituencies in Maharashtra that went to poll on April 29, the North Central Mumbai seat that covers assembly constituencies of Vile Parle, Chandivali, Kurla (reserved for SC), Kalina, Bandra East and Bandra West, witnessed a fight between dynasts - Poonam Pramod Mahajan of BJP versus Priya Sunil Dutt of Congress.

Poonam Pramod Mahajan wins by a margin of 130005 votes against Priya Sunil Dutt. 

In 2014, Mahajan had defeated Dutt easily, winning the seat by almost 3 lakh votes. However, the constituency has historically swung between BJP and the Congress. In 2009, Priya Dutt had beaten Mahesh Jethmalani of BJP by almost 1.5 lakh votes.

READ: 2019 Lok Sabha election results from Unnao, UP: BJP's Sakshi Maharaj bags the crown, wins by a king's ransom of votes

In a series of tweets, Mahajan said thanked the voters and congratulated BJP chief Amit Shah and Prime Minister Narendra Modi 

Interestingly, it was from this constituency from which BR Ambedkar was defeated by little-known Narayan Sadoba Kajrolkar, who polled 138137 votes compared to Ambedkar's 123576 votes in the 1952 General elections - the first-ever election of a free India.

READ: 2019 Lok Sabha election results from Farrukhabad: BJP's Mukesh Rajput wins re-election, makes 'Choor choor' of Congress bigwig Salman Khurshid



Republic World brings you comprehensive election news coverage and phase-by-phase election updates of the Indian General Elections 2019. The 2019 Lok Sabha Elections will be held from April 11 to May 19 in seven phases, with the counting of votes scheduled for May 23. Get all the latest election news, highlights, controversies, polls, live updates and results of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019, only on Republic World.

Trending in Politics - Narendra Modi, Rahul Gandhi, Amit ShahMamata BanerjeeYogi Adityanath