Brought to you by


Your browser does not support the canvas element.



Maharashtra Lok Sabha Elections

EC Files FIR Against Congress' Milind Deora After His Speech Against The Shiv Sena

Written By Digital Desk | Mumbai | Published:

Days ahead of the third phase of the Lok Sabha Elections, the election Commission has registered a case against Congress candidate from South Mumbai for violating the model code of conduct during his poll campaign. 

Addressing gold and diamond merchants at Mumbai's Zaveri Bazaar, Deora had said that Shiv Sena against minorities. the Mumbai Congress President urged the communities to teach them a lesson by not voting for them in the upcoming general elections. 

"The Shiv Sena insulted the Jain community a few years ago when its activists cooked meat outside your temples during Paryushan. Remember this when you go out to cast your votes."

READ: Congress To Win All Mumbai Seats; People Will Not Be Fooled By 'opportunistic' Sena-BJP Tie-up: Milind Deora

Following the incident, sitting Sena MP from South Mumbai Arvind Sawant filed a complaint with the EC against Deora, after which the poll body issued a show-cause notices to the Congress candidate. 

READ: Mukesh Ambani, Uday Kotak Endorse Congress' Milind Deora For Mumbai South LS Seat

In general elections, out of the total 48 Lok Sabha seats in Maharashtra, the Congress-NCP alliance will fight on 26 and 22 seats respectively. The BJP and the Shiv Sena that sealed a deal after a long ongoing tussle between the leadership, and are contesting on 25 while the Shiv Sena will contest on will contest on 23 seats in Maharashtra 

Polls in Maharashtra takes place in four phases of which two phases has been completed and counting of all the seats will take place on May 23

READ: 'Everything Is Fictional... This Disclaimer Will Appear Before Rahul Gandhi's Speech After Few Days', Says Maharashtra CM Devendra Fadnavis


Republic World brings you comprehensive election news coverage and phase-by-phase election updates of the Indian General Elections 2019. The 2019 Lok Sabha Elections will be held from April 11 to May 19 in seven phases, with the counting of votes scheduled for May 23. Get all the latest election news, highlights, controversies, polls, live updates and results of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019, only on Republic World.

Trending in Politics - Narendra Modi, Rahul Gandhi, Amit ShahMamata BanerjeeYogi Adityanath