Maharashtra Lok Sabha Elections

MNS Threatens Vivek Oberoi's 'PM Narendra Modi' Biopic, Raj Thackeray's Chitrapat Sena Says 'will Teach Them A Lesson In Our Style'

Written By Daamini Sharma | Mumbai | Published:

Raj Thackeray-led Maharashtra Navnirman Sena has threatened to stall the release of biopic ‘PM Narendra Modi’, saying that by 'releasing this movie during the election, the ruling party is violating the model code of conduct'. MNS Chitrapat Sena chief Amey Khopkar has also released a statement.

"This movie will release on 5th April. By releasing this movie during the election, the ruling party is violating the model code of conduct and MNS will not allow this to happen. To stop this kind of illegal activity we will teach them lesson in our style. Movie has also illegally mentioned the name of Javed Akhtar and lyricist Samir."

Read: CONFIRMED : Vivek Oberoi's 'PM Narendra Modi' Biopic's Release Brought Forward By A Week Following MCC Violation Complaint, Will Release On April 5

Right from its announcement, the film has found itself in controversies, from allegations of being a 'propaganda film' to political parties objecting to its release with the upcoming Lok Sabha polls. The latest development regarding the movie has been Javed Akhtar expressing shock about being credited among the lyricists. He’s not alone, another veteran lyricist Sameer has also wondered how his name sprung up in the credits of the biopic. 

Both veteran lyricists expressed their shock and concern over the issue and claimed that they did not write even one song for the film. Read their tweets below- 

Responding to their 'displeasure' and 'concern', producer and creative director Sandip Ssingh‏ claimed that the reason credit was given to the veteran musicians is because the team has used their old songs in the biopic. 

Taking to Twitter, he wrote,"We have taken the songs 'Ishwar Allah' from the film '1947:Earth' and the song 'Suno Gaur Se Duniya Walon' from the film 'Dus' in our film, thus we have given the due credits to respective lyricists Javed Sahab and Sameer Ji." 

'PM Narendra Modi' hits the theatres on April 5 and also stars Boman Irani, Barkha Bisht Sengupta, Zarina Wahab, Manoj Joshi and Prashant Narayanan.