Nagaland Lok Sabha Elections

2019 Lok Sabha Election Results For Nagaland: NDPP, Supported By The BJP, Retains Sole Seat In The State

Written By Navashree Nandini | Mumbai | Published:


  • NDPP( supported by BJP) won the lone seat in the state by a margin of 16344 votes against Congress

After seven phases of polls spread across 39 days, the Lok Sabha elections in India has finally come to an end with the verdict of who will form the next government. While the nation is waiting to see its elected representatives in the 17th Lok Sabha. The state which has 60 assembly seats has only one Lok Sabha seat. The seat went to polls during the Phase I of the Lok Sabha elections.


In 2019 Lok Sabha elections, as declared by the Election Commission, NDPP( supported by BJP) won the lone seat in the state by a margin of 16344 votes against Congress.

Republic Double Exit Polls prediction

As per CVoter and Jan Ki Baat projections, BJP is predicted to retain the sole seat in Nagaland whereas for Congress it is another loss as per the predictions. In 2018 assembly elections, BJP won 12 seats in the state while NPF won 27 seats. The NPF formed the government under CM Neiphiu Rio by allying with BJP.

Poll campaign:

First time in 15 years Naga People's Front, a party that has dominated Nagaland politics has not fielded any candidate in the Lok Sabha polls. Four candidates are in the fray for the one seat in Nagaland, namely former Chief Minister K L Chishi from Congress, sitting MP Tokheho Yepthomi from Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP), which is supported by BJP, Hayithung Tungoe from National People's Party (NPP) and M.M Thromwa Konyak of Indian Christian Secular Party (ICSP), who is running as an independent.

It is the first time in 15 years that NPF has not backed BJP in the state; and the first time it will support arch-rival’s Congress’s candidate, veteran leader K L Chishi.Sitting NDPP MP and BJP ally Tokheho Yepthomi contested against National Peoples Party’s Hayithung Tungoe is also a key player in the elections.

Campaign and Controversy:

In a major election controversy, Nagaland Congress on the first phase of elections, tweeted a video claiming that state's deputy CM Yanthungo Patton entered the polling station wearing a BJP scarf and that he voted eight times.In the tweet, the party's Twitter account asked the Chief Electoral Officer of  Nagaland to take notice of the act. In the video, the man who looks like Deputy CM Y Patton is seen wearing a BJP scarf in the polling booth and then going post his ballot.


Republic World brings you comprehensive election news coverage and phase-by-phase election updates of the Indian General Elections 2019. The 2019 Lok Sabha Elections will be held from April 11 to May 19 in seven phases, with the counting of votes scheduled for May 23. Get all the latest election news, highlights, controversies, polls, live updates and results of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019, only on Republic World.

Trending in Politics - Narendra Modi, Rahul Gandhi, Amit ShahMamata BanerjeeYogi Adityanath