NCT of Delhi Lok Sabha Elections

WATCH: Gautam Gambhir Reveals A Long-held Belief That'll 'make Everything Fall Into Place' From His Road-show To File East Delhi Election Nomination

Written By Monica Aggarwal | Mumbai | Published:

In a major development, the BJP on Monday fielded former cricketer Gautam Gambhir from the East Delhi constituency, days after he was inducted into the party. The cricketer-turned-politician Gautam Gambhir on Tuesday ahead of filing his nomination papers from East Delhi Lok Sabha constituency, carried out a massive roadshow in the national capital. 

Speaking to news agency ANI over his debut in the General elections, Gambhir exclaimed that he wants to take the legacy of Prime Minister Narendra Modi while contributing to the nation. 

"I really want to contribute something to the country and whatever our Prime Minister has done in the last 5 years, I want to take that legacy forward. I have always maintained one thing, if you want to something for the society, then do it. Then everything will fall into place," the BJP leader said. 

BIG: Gautam Gambhir Gets BJP Lok Sabha Election Ticket, Mouthwatering East Delhi Contest With AAP's Atishi Marlena And Congress' Arvinder Singh Lovely In Store

Newly-appointed BJP leader Gambhir has replaced Maheish Girri, who is the sitting MP from his party from the constituency, as the party's candidate for East Delhi constituency. He is set to take on Arvinder Singh Lovely of the Congress and Atishi of the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP). Sitting MP Meenakshi Lekhi is pitted against AAP's Brajesh Goel and Ajay Maken of the Congress. 

Furthermore, BJP fielded its four sitting MPs from Delhi -- Harsh Vardhan from Chandni Chowk, Manoj Tiwari from North-east Delhi, Pravesh Verma from West Delhi and Ramesh Bidhuri from South Delhi for the ongoing Lok Sabha polls. 

Delhi will see polling in the 2019 Lok Sabha elections in the Phase 6 on May 12. Counting of votes will take place on May 23.

Meanwhile, the third phase of Parliamentary elections is underway in the country on Tuesday with 117 constituencies across 13 states and two union territories witnessing the polls. 

READ: You Have To Read Gautam Gambhir's Exchange With The Sitting BJP MP In The East Delhi Constituency Which He Will Contest