Rajasthan Lok Sabha Elections

2019 Lok Sabha Elections Result For Rajasthan: NDA Wins All 25 Parliamentary Constituencies Just Four Months After Losing Assembly Elections, Repeats 2014 Feat

Written By Monica Aggarwal | Mumbai | Published:


  • In a clarion call by the people against the four months of Ashok Gehlot government in the state, the BJP won all the 26 seats in the state. 

In the 2019 General Elections polls, the Hindi heartland state of Rajasthan witnessed a prestige battle between the Congress party which aimed to topple the ruling BJP government and the Bharatiya Janata Party which is looking forward for a second term at the office.

In a clarion call by the people against the four months of Ashok Gehlot government in the state, the NDAwon all the 26 seats in the state. 

After a high-voltage campaign and equally high-decibel drama within parties, farmer distress, unemployment and welfare schemes played a crucial role in the poll plank of the both the key parties in the state.

In this election, the Congress party decided to contest the polls on its own from all the 25 seats unlike the Assembly elections in which it had allied with Ajit Singh’s Rashtriya Lok Dal, Sharad Pawar’s Nationalist Congress Party and Sharad Yadav’s Loktantrik Janata Dal. On the other side, the BJP has taken a smaller party, such as the Rashtriya Loktantrik Party (RLP) along.

In 2014, BJP registered a mammoth victory by sweeping all the 25 seats in the state.  Rajasthan has been a BJP stronghold as it has been winning the state since 1999 Lok Sabha polls except in 2009 when the Congress party won 20 seats, BJP won 4 seats and the remaining 1 seat was won by an Independent.

READ: PM Narendra Modi And Amit Shah Visit BJP Founding Fathers LK Advani And Murli Manohar Joshi The Day After Election Victory, Seek Their Blessings

A BJP bastion, the state, however, witnessed the pendulum of the voters swinging to the Congress party in 2018 Assembly elections, owing to anti-incumbency against the Vasundhara Raje government.

Rajasthan, known as the desert state of India, sends 25 MPs to the Lok Sabha. It voted in two phases of the polls - fourth and fifth -  on April 29 and May 6. One of the key battles in the state was between Jaipur Rural incumbent BJP MP Rajyavardhan Rathore and Padma Shri awardee and Olympic gold medalist Krishna Poonia, who is contesting Congress ticket. Senior Congress leader and Rajasthan CM Ashok Gehlot's son Vaibhav Gehlot has been fielded against BJP's Gajendra Singh Shekhawat.

Republic Double Exit Poll which came out on the last day of 2019 Lok Sabha elections had predicted NDA to win over 20 seats in the state, while projecting the UPA to get 3 seats in its kitty.


Republic World brings you comprehensive election news coverage and phase-by-phase election updates of the Indian General Elections 2019. The 2019 Lok Sabha Elections will be held from April 11 to May 19 in seven phases, with the counting of votes scheduled for May 23. Get all the latest election news, highlights, controversies, polls, live updates and results of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019, only on Republic World.

Trending in Politics - Narendra Modi, Rahul Gandhi, Amit ShahMamata BanerjeeYogi Adityanath