WATCH: Tamil Actor Vijay Casts His Vote In Chennai As Phase 2 Of General Elections Begin

Tamil Nadu Lok Sabha Elections

Tamil actor Vijay waits in queue outside a polling station in Chennai and casts his vote as Phase 2 of General Elections begin.

Written By Diyali Banerjee | Mumbai | Updated On:

Indian film actor Vijay, who is known for his works in Tamil cinema, was spotted outside a polling booth at Saligramam in Chennai, Tamil Nadu to cast their vote as India enters the Phase 2 of Lok Sabha Elections on April 18. The actor joined the queue along with the common people and cast his vote. Pictures and videos of him waiting in the line for his turn surfaced on the internet. 

Take a look:

READ: Makkal Needhi Maiam Chief Kamal Haasan And Daughter Shruti Haasan Queue Up Outside Polling Station As Phase 2 Of General Elections Begin 

This is the first time that the Lok Sabha Elections are being held in the state after the demise of All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK) leader and former CM J Jayalalithaa and Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK) leader M Karunanidhi. 

With 95 seats, 1619 candidates and 179880 polling booths at disposition the states that will go to polls on Thursday are - 

Assam (5 seats), Bihar (5 seats), Chhattisgarh (3 seats), Jammu and Kashmir (2 seats), Karnataka (14 seats), Maharashtra (10 seats), Manipur (1 seat), Odisha (5 seats), Tamil Nadu (38 seats), Uttar Pradesh (8 seats), West Bengal(3 seats) and Puducherry (1 seat).

The list does not account for Tamil Nadu's Vellore and Tripura East constituency.

WATCH: Superstar Rajinikanth Casts His Vote In Chennai As India Goes To Polls For Phase 2 Of General Elections

The polls will see seats from where high profile candidates are contending: 

Deve Gowda (JD), BK Hariprasad (Congress), PC Mohan (BJP), Yashwant Singh (BJP), Raj Babbar (Congress), Hema Malini (BJP), SP Singh Baghel (BJP), Maharaj Kumari Pragya Debburman (Congress), Farooq Abdullah (NC), Syed Mohsin (PDP), Mohammad Salim (CPM), Ashok Chavan (Congress).

By 2030, 40% Indian will not have access to drinking water