Tripura Lok Sabha Elections

2019 Lok Sabha Election Results For Tripura: Lotus Continues To Bloom In The Once-Left Bastion As BJP Wins Both The Seats In The State

Written By Navashree Nandini | Mumbai | Published:


  • Repeating its performance of assembly elections, BJP clean-sweep the state by winning both the seats

After seven phases of polls spread across 39 days, the Lok Sabha elections in India have finally come to an end with the verdict of who will form the next government. While the nation is waiting to see its elected representatives in the 17th Lok Sabha, the BJP in Tripura contested with a hope to demolish the left, while the CPI(M) aimed at getting back their stronghold in the state.


Repeating its performance of assembly elections, BJP clean-sweep the state by winning both the seats. (as per EC at 11:30 AM May 24)


Republic Double Exit Polls prediction

As per both Jan Ki Baat and CVoter prediction, NDA continued to repeat its 2017 performance in the left bastion by winning both seats. It was projected that UPA and CPM will be left behind empty handed.

2014 General Elections and 2018 Assembly elections:

In 2014, CPI(M) won both the seats in the state with a whopping vote share of 64 percent. BJP won only 5.7 percent. However in the assembly elections the party broke the left citadel by winning 36 seats with a vote share of 43 percent. While the CPI(M), despite the popularity of Chief Minister Manik Sarkar won only 16 seats.

READ: 2019 Lok Sabha Election Results: Modi-Nitish Smash Bihar 'gathbandhan', Bag Almost All The State's Seats

Campaign and Controversy

Riding the crest of a Modi wave, the BJP demolished the communist citadel of Tripura in 2018 assembly polls by winning a two-thirds majority with ally IPFT. While PM Modi in his rally had claimed that a spate of development projects in the state would turn Tripura into the best state in the country, the Congress and the CPI-M MPs of the state and the Tripura Student Federation (TSF) protested against the Citizenship (Amendment) Bill throughout the election season.

Key Contest:

Tripura West: The BJP candidate from this seat was Pratima Bhowmick who won against former BJP vice president Subal Bhowmick who joined the Congress by a margin of 305689 votes. Sitting Left MP, CPIM's  Shankar Prasad Dutta was also in contention. Brishketu Debbarman who is an MLA also contested in an IPFT ticket.

READ: Republic Double Exit Poll For Tripura: NDA Projected To Repeat Its Assembly Election Performance In The Former Left Bastion, CVoter And Jan Ki Baat Concur On Both Seats Going In Favour Of Saffron Party


Republic World brings you comprehensive election news coverage and phase-by-phase election updates of the Indian General Elections 2019. The 2019 Lok Sabha Elections will be held from April 11 to May 19 in seven phases, with the counting of votes scheduled for May 23. Get all the latest election news, highlights, controversies, polls, live updates and results of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019, only on Republic World.

Trending in Politics - Narendra Modi, Rahul Gandhi, Amit ShahMamata BanerjeeYogi Adityanath