Uttar Pradesh Lok Sabha Elections

2019 Lok Sabha Election Results For Ghaziabad, Uttar Pradesh: BJP's VK Singh Retains Seat By Defeating SP's Suresh Bansal

Written By Monica Aggarwal | Mumbai | Published:

Formed in 2008, Uttar Pradesh’s Ghaziabad Lok Sabha constituency has been a BJP stronghold with the Saffron party’s leaders winning the seat in both the elections there so far. The 2019 Lok Sabha polls witnessed an interesting triangular battle between BJP’s candidate and Minister of State for External Affairs General Vijay Kumar Singh (retd.) against Congress’ Dolly Sharma, daughter of Congress leader Narendra Bhardwaj, and SP-BSP-RLD alliance's Suresh Bansal.

As the result figures came following the counting of the votes, BJP retained its Ghaziabad bastion with sitting MP General V. K. Singh (retd.) winning against both his opponents, with the final count showing him to be on 9,44,503 votes and his nearest rival Suresh Bansal winning 4,43,003 on Dolly Sharma winning 1,11,944 votes.

Rated as among the fastest-growing cities in the world, Ghaziabad became high profile parliamentary constituency in the politically significant state of Uttar Pradesh, following the representation by Union Home Minister Rajnath Singh and former COAS General VK Singh.

Spread over areas of Ghaziabad district and some areas of Hapur, the constituency is divided into five Assembly segments. As per reports, there is a tougher battle for votes in the rural pocket of Ghaziabad for all the candidates, since the Lok Sabha constituency has a distinctly urban sheen. The metropolitan assembly constituencies of Sahibabad and Ghaziabad together account for nearly half the votes.

In the 2014 General Elections,  General VK Singh had won a landslide victory by winning 56.51 percent of the votes and defeating Congress' Raj Babbar by 5.67 lakh votes. It was the second-highest victory margin in the elections, second only to PM Modi’s victory margin from Vadodara which he later relinquished, choosing to remain MP from Varanasi instead.

In 2009, current Union Home Minister Rajnath Singh had contested elections from Ghaziabad - the first in the constituency after its formation as part of the delimitation process. Rajnath Singh had defeated Surendra Prakash Goyal of the Congress party by a margin of 90,681 votes at a time when there were 16 candidates in the fray.

2019 Lok Sabha Election Results For Mainpuri, Uttar Pradesh: In A Prestige Battle For SP, Mulayam Singh Yadav Defeats BJP's Prem Singh Shakya