Uttar Pradesh Lok Sabha Elections

CONTROVERSIAL: SP Leader Opposes 'Vande Mataram', Says Cannot Follow It As It Is 'against Islam'

Written By Monica Aggarwal | Mumbai | Published:


  • Shafiqur Rahman Barq, an MP candidate jointly contesting on SP-BSP ticket from Sambhal seat of Uttar Pradesh, openly insulted the Vande Mataram

Days ahead of Lok Sabha polls 2019 to take place in the country, Shafiqur Rahman Barq, an MP candidate jointly contesting on SP-BSP ticket from Sambhal seat of Uttar Pradesh, on Thursday once again openly insulted the Vande Mataram, saying 'it is against Islam'. 

On being asked by the reporters on his stand on Vande Mataram, he said that he is against it and cannot follow it.

"I am against Vande Mataram. It is against Islam. I cannot follow it," said Shafiqur Rahman Barq while speaking to reporters. 

Earlier in 2013, the then MP from Mayawati's Bahujan Samaj Party had walked out of the Lok Sabha while 'Vande Mataram' was playing in the house, insulting the national anthem. He had said that the national song is against Islam, and therefore, had walked out of the Parliament.

After the matter was brought to the notice of former Speaker of the house Meira Kumar, she had issued a warning saying that action would be taken against the MP for insulting the national song. The Vande Mataram tune is played at the end of the session in the Parliament. 

Years after the incident, Shafiqur Rahman Barq once again insulted the Vande Mataram publicly. 

WATCH: BJP's Tajinder Bagga Takes Jibe At Rahul Gandhi For Appearing Restless As 'Vande Mataram' Plays In Parliament, Shivraj Joins In

Meanwhile, in a massive announcement, former Uttar Pradesh CM and Barq's former party chief Mayawati on Wednesday announced that she will not contest the upcoming polls. 

"For the benefit of people, my party and the nation, it is better that I don't contest the Lok Sabha elections. And keeping all this in mind, I won't be fighting the polls. I am confident and sure that my party workers will accept this decision," the BSP supremo said.

As the nation is set to go into polls, voting will take place in Uttar Pradesh in all seven phases starting from April 11. The counting of will votes will take place on May 23 when the results will be announced. 

READ: Mayawati Opts Out Of 2019 Lok Sabha Race; Says Still Possible To Become PM, Minister At Centre