Uttar Pradesh Lok Sabha Elections

FULL VIDEO: The Ganga Aarti At Varanasi's Dashashwamedh Ghat At The Culmination Of PM Modi's Massive Roadshow Ahead Of His Nomination-filing

Written By Diyali Banerjee | Mumbai | Published:


  • Prime Minister Narendra Modi will file his nomination papers for the Varanasi Lok Sabha seat on Friday, April 26. 
  • Ahead of the same, the country chief performed Ganga Aarti at Dashashwamedh Ghat in Varanasi.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi will file his nomination papers for the Varanasi Lok Sabha seat on Friday, April 26. Ahead of the same, PM Modi performed Ganga Aarti at Dashashwamedh Ghat in Varanasi. He was accompanied by UP CM Yogi Adityanath, BJP President Amit Shah and UP BJP chief Mahendra Nath Pandey.

In the mesmerizing visuals coming in, PM Modi can be seen seated on the stage along with the fellow BJP leaders while the rituals of the Ganga Aarti are in progress. The entire area has been decorated with flowers and lights, while the holy chants filled up the air. 

The Prime Minister offered prayers at Dashashwamedh Ghat.  

Here's are the visuals:

  READ: PM Narendra Modi To Hold Mega Roadshow In Varanasi Before Filing Nomination: LIVE Updates 

Earlier on the day, Prime Minister Narendra Modi held a 7-km mega roadshow in his bastion in Uttar Pradesh. It started from the Malviya statue at 3 pm and concluded at the Dashashwamedha Ghat, following which the Prime Minister participated in Ganga Aarti. 

In an unprecedented move, Congress fielded Ajay Rai as its candidate to take on Prime Minister Narendra Modi from the Varanasi Lok Sabha constituency in the 2019 General Elections.

On Tuesday, while addressing a press Conference in Varanasi, BJP chief Amit Shah shared the names of the dignitaries who will be a part of PM Modi's nomination process.

"In the nomination process, BJP's senior leaders, parliamentary board leaders and many leaders of the NDA will be present like Ram Vilas Paswan, Nitish Kumar,  Shiromani Akali Dal's Sukhbir Singh Badal, AIADMK leaders, Asom Gana Parishad leaders, Shiv Sena supremo Uddhav Thackrey among a few," he said.

MUST WATCH: Here's What PM Modi Said When Akshay Kumar Asked, "Did You Ever Think One Day You Will Become The Prime Minister?"

In 2014 Lok Sabha polls, PM Narendra Modi had won the Varanasi Lok Sabha seat, defeating Delhi CM Arvind Kejriwal by a massive margin of 3.37 lakh votes. 

With Uttar Pradesh going to polls in all seven phases, Varanasi will vote in the last phase of the Lok Sabha election on May 19. Counting of votes will take place on May 23.