Uttar Pradesh Lok Sabha Elections

List Vs List: After BJP, Congress Also Announces 40 Star Campaigners For Uttar Pradesh Lok Sabha Polls With Rahul Gandhi At Number 1

Written By Monica Aggarwal | Mumbai | Published:


  • The Congress party on Tuesday released its list of 'star campaigners' for the ensuing Lok Sabha elections from Uttar Pradesh

The Congress party on Tuesday released its list of 'star campaigners' for the ensuing Lok Sabha elections from Uttar Pradesh. The list names the Congress' top brass including UPA chief Sonia Gandhi, party president Rahul Gandhi, UP East General Secretary Priyanka Gandhi, former PM Manmohan Singh and senior leader Mallikarjun Kharge.

Among other Congress leaders. the list includes Jyotiraditya Scindia, Raj Babbar, Hardik Patel, Ahmed Patel, Kamal Nath, Ghulam Nabi Azad, Sheila Dixit, Captain Amarinder Singh, Sachin Pilot, PL Punia, Meira Kumar and Navjot Singh Sidhu. 

Here is the full list of star campaigners in Uttar Pradesh:

The list has come only hours after BJP released the list of its star campaigners for the state of Uttar Pradesh. The BJP's list includes Prime Minister Narendra Modi, BJP president Amit Shah, Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Aditya Nath, MEA Sushma Swaraj, Finance Minister Arun Jaitley among other top BJP leaders. 

READ: BJP Releases List Of 40 'star Campaigners' For Uttar Pradesh; PM Modi, Amit Shah At Top Of The List

 BJP released its first list that includes 182 candidates on March 21. In Uttar Pradesh, Prime Minister Narendra Modi will be contending from the Varanasi seat, while Home Minister Rajnath Singh will be contending from the state capital Lucknow and Union Minister Smriti Irani from Amethi, yet again making it a face-off between her and the Congress president Rahul Gandhi.  

The Congress party on March 7 announced the list of candidates contesting the upcoming Lok Sabha elections in Uttar Pradesh. Apart from Rahul Gandhi who is set to fight again from his bastion Amethi, his mother and UPA chief Sonia Gandhi will contest from Rae Bareli yet again. However, the name of Priyanka Gandhi Vadra, who recently announced her entry into active politics after being inducted into Congress as the General Secretary for UP East, has not yet been proposed by the Grand Old party for the Lok Sabha elections 2019. 

In Uttar Pradesh, the Lok Sabha elections will be held in six phases on April 11, 18, 23, 29 and May 12 and 19. Results of the polls will be declared on May 23.

READ: BIG CONGRESS ANNOUNCEMENT: Sonia Gandhi & Rahul Gandhi To Contest Elections From Rae Bareli And Amethi, Salman Khurshid Also Gets A Ticket. List Of 15 U.P And Gujarat Candidates Here


Republic World brings you comprehensive election news coverage and phase-by-phase election updates of the Indian General Elections 2019. The 2019 Lok Sabha Elections will be held from April 11 to May 19 in seven phases, with the counting of votes scheduled for May 23. Get all the latest election news, highlights, controversies, polls, live updates and results of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019, only on Republic World.

Trending in Politics - Narendra Modi, Rahul Gandhi, Amit ShahMamata BanerjeeYogi Adityanath