Uttar Pradesh Lok Sabha Elections

WATCH: From 'Damdaar Chowkidar Vs Daagdars' To 'Sharaab' - 5 Fiery Highlights From PM Modi's Blazing Meerut Lok Sabha Election Rally

Written By Ankit Prasad | Mumbai | Published:

Prime Minister Narendra Modi kicked off his 2019 Lok Sabha election campaign blitz with a massive rally in Uttar Pradesh's Meerut on Thursday - the first of a planned six rallies in two days just two weeks ahead of the first phase of voting.

Here are the top five highlights of the Prime Minister's rally address:


The Prime Minister remarked on the tremendous mandate he had been given by the people of India in the 2014 elections, and how he had told them that he would repay their love and support with interest. He said that he would give an account of his government's achievements and also take the hisaab of the opposition:


Taking on the Opposition on the matter of corruption, he launched a fiery 'Damdaar Chowkidar vs Daagdar' attack claiming that on one side there was a person who was willing to crack down on corruption, and on the other, there were those who had numerous allegations against them:


The Prime Minister slammed the Opposition for ridiculing his Jan Dhan scheme to open bank accounts for Indian citizens, highlighting how the Congress was now promising to leverage the benefits of the very same bank accounts to deliver on its Rs 72,000 minimum income guarantee 'NYAY' scheme.


Taking on the Opposition and terming them the 'Mahamilavat', the Prime Minister highlighted how certain leaders had demanded proof of the air-strike on Pakistan's Balakot terror camp, asking them whether they stood for the forces or against them:

SP's 'S', RLD's 'R', and BSP's 'B' - "SHARAAB":

The Prime Minister unleashed a 'Sharaab' attack at the UP Gathbandhan, raising how parties that had opposed each other for years and leaders who had tried to put one another in jail repeatedly were now in league with each other. He coined 'Sharaab' (alcohol) taking parts of the three parties' names to make a fiery attack. 


Republic World brings you comprehensive election news coverage and phase-by-phase election updates of the Indian General Elections 2019. The 2019 Lok Sabha Elections will be held from April 11 to May 19 in seven phases, with the counting of votes scheduled for May 23. Get all the latest election news, highlights, controversies, polls, live updates and results of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019, only on Republic World.

Trending in Politics - Narendra Modi, Rahul Gandhi, Amit ShahMamata BanerjeeYogi Adityanath

pledge img
Live Pledge Count