WATCH: PM Modi's Gesture Of Deep Respect For Prakash Singh Badal As They Meet At The Nomination-filing Centre In Varanasi

Uttar Pradesh Lok Sabha Elections

Prime Minister Narendra Modi filed his nomination for 2019 Lok Sabha elections in Varanasi at the Rifle Club on Friday

Written By Monica Aggarwal | Mumbai | Updated On:

Prime Minister Narendra Modi filed his nomination for 2019 Lok Sabha elections in Varanasi at the Rifle Club on Friday. In a massive show of strength to NDA leaders were present at the Rifle Club for the occasion. Union Ministers, past and present CMs, and party chiefs showed their support to the Prime Minister as he filed his nomination from Varanasi Lok Sabha constituency.

Among the top brass of National Democratic Alliance including Shiv Sena chief Uddhav Thackeray, Janata Dal leader and Bihar CM Nitish Kumar was Akali Dal leader Parkash Singh Badal who greeted the Prime Minister as he entered the Rifle Club for filing his nomination.

As the senior NDA leader and former CM of Punjab greeted the PM with folded hands, the Prime Minister bowed down to touch his feet. After he touches he feet, he greets the veteran leader with a gratitude. 

Sukhbir Singh Badal-led Shiromani Akali Dal is a part of the BJP-led NDA, along with other parties including Shiv Sena (Maharashtra) and Dal (United) (Bihar) among others. Along with Prakash Singh Badal, top BJP and NDA leaders including Amit Shah, Rajnath Singh, Sushma Swaraj were present at the occassion.

Watch the video above.

Meanwhile, PM Modi filed his nomination for Varanasi at the Rifle Club.

A day before filing the nomination, PM Modi held a 7-km mega roadshow in Varanasi along with Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath, Union Minister JP Nadda, UP and Delhi BJP chiefs, Mahendra Nath Pandey and Manoj Tiwari.

PM Modi is set to contest the 2019 polls against Congress' Ajay Rai and SP leader Shalini Yadav in Varanasi constituency. 

In the 2014 Lok Sabha polls, Prime Minister Modi won from Varanasi by a margin of 3.37 lakh votes. AAP leader Arvind Kejriwal and Rai were among the candidates from the seat. While Kejriwal came in the second place, Rai stood third in the vote tally.

Varanasi will go to polls on May 19 in the last phase of the Lok Sabha elections. The counting of votes will take place on May 23.

READ: PM Narendra Modi To File His Nomination From Varanasi Parliamentary Seat For 2019 Lok Sabha Elections: LIVE Updates

By 2030, 40% Indians will not have access to drinking water