Uttarakhand Lok Sabha Elections

2019 Lok Sabha Results In Uttarakhand: BJP Sweeps The State Winning All 5 Seats

Written By Digital Desk | Mumbai | Published:

In the state of Uttarakhand, main parties include Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Congress and Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) with 52 candidates contesting in five constituencies. 

During 2014 Lok Sabha Elections, the state elected BJP candidates from all its 5 constituencies, giving them an overwhelming victory, and now in 2019, the outcome is as follows. 

2019 Lok Sabha results in Uttarakhand: BJP sweeps the state winning all 5 seats

The hill station that was carved out of Uttar Pradesh 19 years ago, has witnessed a rather bipolar contest between the BJP and the Congress. Both parties were seen locked in a tight contest, that can be called the ‘battle of the CMs’ dotting the political horizon.

KEY LEADERS IN FRAY: Some of the big names in the hill station include BJP’s Mala Rajya Laxmi from Tehri Garhwal, Tirath Singh Rawat, Ajay Tamta, Ajay Bhatt and Dr. Ramesh Pokhriyal. Big names in Congress in the state include Ambrish Kumar, Pritam Singh, the former chief minister and the general secretary of AICC Harish Rawat, Pradeem Tamta and Manish Khanduri.

2019 EXIT POLL PREDICTIONS: As per projections of Republic Double Exit polls, it was predicted that NDA will continue a stronghold in the state and will win five parliamentary seats whereas UPA will be left empty-handed. 


Uttarakhand has 5 Lok Sabha Constituencies in total. All the constituencies voted in 2019 General Elections during the first phase of polling on April 11, 2019. In 2014, all five parliamentary seats were held by the BJP, who also enjoy a majority in the state. In 2017 assembly elections, the BJP won 57 out of the 70 seats. The Congress, which won 11 seats is the main opposition in the state. 

Ever since the state has been created, BJP and INC have been the dominant parties in the states. Back in 2002, the first assembly elections were held, where INC won 36 out of 70 seats and formed the government. BJP was the second largest with 19 seats and sat in the opposition. In 2007 elections, BJP emerged as the largest party by winning 34 seats, however, while in 2012, the anti-incumbency wave factored majorly in the elections and INC came to power


Republic World brings you comprehensive election news coverage and phase-by-phase election updates of the Indian General Elections 2019. The 2019 Lok Sabha Elections will be held from April 11 to May 19 in seven phases, with the counting of votes scheduled for May 23. Get all the latest election news, highlights, controversies, polls, live updates and results of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019, only on Republic World.

Trending in Politics - Narendra Modi, Rahul Gandhi, Amit ShahMamata BanerjeeYogi Adityanath