West Bengal Lok Sabha Elections

2019 Lok Sabha Election Results From Baharampur, West Bengal: Congress Stalwart Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury Defeats Trinamool's Apurba Sarkar In A Guru-shishya Battle

Written By Navashree Nandini | Mumbai | Published:


  • Congress MP Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury wins against Trinamool MLA Apurba Sarkar, aka David by a margin of 78949 votes, as per EC.

The fight in Baharampur was between four-time Congress MP Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury and Trinamool MLA Apurba Sarkar, aka David, who recently joined the party.

While Chowdhury has been instrumental in the growth of Sarkar in politics, both are now at loggerheads with each other. However, the primary significance of the seat is that it is one of the last Congress bastions in West Bengal where Trinamool has not made inroads.

Congress MP Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury wins against Trinamool MLA Apurba Sarkar, aka David by a margin of 78949 votes, as per EC.

READ: 2019 Lok Sabha election results from North East Delhi: BJP Delhi chief Manoj Tiwari routs former CM Sheila Dikshit by more than 3 lakh votes

With the Trinamool doing well in the panchayat elections in Behrampur last year, a boost for Chowdhury was the the Left front partially supporting him in his bid for the seat. While there isn't an alliance between CPI(M) and Congress, CPI(M) decided against fielding any candidate from Baharampur to help Chowdhury. However, RSP, another Left party which has a long history in the constituency, fielded its candidate Id Mohammad, a former MLA from Baharampur.

RSP (Revolutionary Socialist Party) has won from Baharampur 12 times since the first election there barring only once in 1984. They had the seat under their rule till 1998 but following that, from 1999, it has become Chowdhury’s bastion. In last election, he won against TMC's celebrity candidate Indranil Sen by 3.57 lakh margin.

BJP's prospects weren’t regarded high in this constituency, as Krishna Juardar Arya isn't known to be a popular face. West Bengal CM Mamata Banerjee has alleged that there is ‘fixed match’ between BJP and Congress here and that the local RSS organisation is working overtime to ensure Chowdhury's win. In the last few years, there had been constant rumours of Adhir joining BJP.

READ: 2019 Lok Sabha election results from Unnao, UP: BJP's Sakshi Maharaj bags the crown, wins by a king's ransom of votes



Republic World brings you comprehensive election news coverage and phase-by-phase election updates of the Indian General Elections 2019. The 2019 Lok Sabha Elections will be held from April 11 to May 19 in seven phases, with the counting of votes scheduled for May 23. Get all the latest election news, highlights, controversies, polls, live updates and results of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019, only on Republic World.

Trending in Politics - Narendra Modi, Rahul Gandhi, Amit ShahMamata BanerjeeYogi Adityanath