West Bengal Lok Sabha Elections

Congress Sounds Warning For Mamata Banerjee, Releases High-profile List Of Star Campaigners For West Bengal

Written By Navashree Nandini | Mumbai | Published:


  • Congress party released a list of star campaigners to campaign in West Bengal's sixth phase of elections
  • The party's top brass will all be campaigning in Trinamool chief Mamata Banerjee's home turf
  • Navjot Singh Siddhu and Urmila Matondkar are included in the list

As the country completes the third phase of elections on April 23 and the political parties gear up to campaign for the rest of the phases, the Congress has announced a list of their star campaigners to campaign in the sixth phase of elections in West Bengal.

The list released by the party on Tuesday names the Congress' top brass including UPA chief Sonia Gandhi, party president Rahul Gandhi, UP East General Secretary Priyanka Gandhi, Salman Khurshid, Jairam Ramesh and others. 

Among other Congress leaders the list includes Jyotiraditya Scindia, Raj Babbar, Hardik Patel, Ahmed Patel, Ghulam Nabi Azad, Captain Amarinder Singh, Sachin Pilot, Somanth Mitra, Anand Sharma, Shashi Tharoor, Sushmita Dev, Kamal Nath, Ashok Gehlot.

The party has also included Navjot Singh Sidhu who violated the model code of conduct while campaigning in Bihar's Katihar, appealing to Muslim voters, as a result of which he was banned from campaigning for 72 hours. Newly inducted party member actor-turned politician Urmila Matondkar is also present in the list of star campaigners. 

Here's the full list:

WATCH: "Had The Post Of PM Been Up For Auction, Mamata And Congress Would Have Bought It With Money They Have Looted," Says PM Narendra Modi During Rally At West Bengal's Asansol

The sixth phase elections in West Bengal will be held in eight constituencies, namely Tamluk, Kanthi, Ghatal, Jhargram, Medinipur, Purulia, Bankura, Bishnupur. The state has witnessed violence during the elections in the second and the third phase. In the third phase elections that was held on April 23, a Congress worker has been killed in Murshidabad district and in the second phase the Raiganj district witnessed violent clashes allegedly between Trinamool workers and BJP workers. 

Earlier, the BJP in West Bengal had requested the EC to take cognisance of campaigning by the TMC using two Bangladeshi actors, who were later sent back as per orders. 

West Bengal polls on all seven phases and election results will be declared on May 23. 

READ: After West Bengal Minister Ratna Ghosh Kar's 'Chase CRPF Jawans With Broomsticks' Shocker, BJP's Roopa Ganguly Accuses Mamata Banerjee-led Trinamool Of 'terror Tactics'


Republic World brings you comprehensive election news coverage and phase-by-phase election updates of the Indian General Elections 2019. The 2019 Lok Sabha Elections will be held from April 11 to May 19 in seven phases, with the counting of votes scheduled for May 23. Get all the latest election news, highlights, controversies, polls, live updates and results of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019, only on Republic World.

Trending in Politics - Narendra Modi, Rahul Gandhi, Amit ShahMamata BanerjeeYogi Adityanath