Brought to you by


Your browser does not support the canvas element.



West Bengal Lok Sabha Elections

"With The Violence Breaking Out, It Is Clear That The Opposition Is Scared Of Losing": Union Minister Nitin Gadkari Condemns Attack On BJP Chief Amit Shah's Roadshow In Kolkata

Written By Radhika Sarkar | Mumbai | Published:


  • Violent clashes broke out during roadshow of BJP president Amit Shah in Kolkata, West Bengal on Tuesday. 

Violent clashes broke out during roadshow of BJP president Amit Shah in Kolkata, West Bengal on Tuesday. 

READ: FIRST RESPONSE: BJP Chief Amit Shah Narrates How His Kolkata Roadshow Was Attacked, Makes Argument As To Why Trinamool Must Be Removed From West Bengal

Reacting to the attack, Nitin Gadkari on Twitter wrote, "I condemn the attack done by TMC goons on BJP president Amit Shah's roadshow. In a democracy, thoughts should be fought through thoughts and not by taking the route of violence. From the past few days, the incidents that are happening in West Bengal, prove that the Opposition is scared of losing"

As per inputs, the clashes broke after sticks were hurled at Amit Shah’s cavalcade while it was passing through College Street near Calcutta University. The police later resorted to lathi-charge to control the violence. As per news agency PTI, stones were pelted at Amit Shah’s convoy from a college hostel on Bidhan Sarani. 

 WATCH: "Dirty Political Game By Mamata Banerjee," Alleges Union Minister Babul Supriyo After Violent Clashes Break Out During Amit Shah's Kolkata Roadshow

Speaking over the clashes of his rally, BJP president Amit Shah said: "I condemn the violence that Mamata Banerjee's party is perpetrating. I appeal to the people of West Bengal that they answer the violence with peace and high turnout at polls, and bring an end to this cycle of violence by removing the Trinamool."



Republic World brings you comprehensive election news coverage and phase-by-phase election updates of the Indian General Elections 2019. The 2019 Lok Sabha Elections will be held from April 11 to May 19 in seven phases, with the counting of votes scheduled for May 23. Get all the latest election news, highlights, controversies, polls, live updates and results of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019, only on Republic World.

Trending in Politics - Narendra Modi, Rahul Gandhi, Amit ShahMamata BanerjeeYogi Adityanath