Alia Bhatt Reveals She Can't Cast Her Vote This Elections 2019. Here's Her Reason

Bollywood News

Alia Bhatt can't vote this year. Here's why

Written By Chetna Kapoor | Mumbai | Updated On:

As the country celebrates the biggest event of democracy — Elections 2019, Alia Bhatt has revealed in an interview that she can't cast her vote. Why?

READ | Tinder Bio Trends: Game Of Thrones, Alia Bhatt, Chai Become The Most Mentioned Terms. Here's The Full List

Because she is a British citizen. Alia Bhatt along with Varun Dhawan, Aditya Roy Kapur and Sonakshi Sinha during their 'Kalank' promotions were asked if they were going to vote in Lok Sabha Elections 2019. While Varun and Sonakshi said they would vote, Aditya said he has made 'please vote' videos to spread awareness but Alia with a low tone (disappointed) said, 'I can't'. Sonakshi prompted, 'Is it your passport?', to which she said, 'Yes'.

For those unaware, Alia Bhatt and Soni Razdan hold a British passport and she can only cast her vote if she decides to give that up and applies for an Indian citizenship and passport.

On March 13, Prime Minister Narendra Modi had tweeted tagging Alia Bhatt asking her to urge the audience to go out and vote. He wrote: "Requesting @deepikapadukone, @aliaa08 and @AnushkaSharma to urge people to vote in large numbers for the coming elections. 

As renowned film personalities whose work is admired by many, I am sure their message will have a positive impact on our citizens."

Alia replied to PM Modi and wrote: "A vote is a nation’s voice. A nation’s choice. Use your voice. Make your choice. #Vote #Election2019"

The General elections will be held for 543 Lok Sabha seats on nearly 10 lakh polling booths across the country which higher compared to 9 lakh in 2014, with 84 million more voters will be casting their vote this time, announced the CEC Sunil Arora.

While Phase 1 was over on April 11. Here's the schedule for Phase 2:

Phase 2:

Last date of nomination is set to be on March 26 

Date for Scrutiny of nominations: March 27

Last date of withdrawal of nominations: March 29

Last date of polling: April 18

Date of counting: May 23

The second phase will see 97 seats from 13 states going into polls: 

  • Asaam - 5
  • Bihar - 5
  • Chattisgarh - 3
  • Jammu and Kashmir - 2
  • Karnataka  - 14
  • Maharashtra - 10
  • Manipur - 1
  • Orissa - 5
  • Tamil Nadu - 39
  • Tripura - 1
  • Uttar Pradesh - 8
  • West Bengal - 3
  • Puducherry - 1



Get the latest entertainment news from India & around the world. Now follow your favourite television celebs and telly updates. Republic World is your one-stop destination for trending Bollywood news. Tune in today to stay updated with all the latest news and headlines from the world of entertainment.

By 2030, 40% Indian will not have access to drinking water