Source: YouTube
Source: YouTube

Bollywood News

Helen's Iconic Song 'Mera Naam Chin Chin Chu' Just Got A Punjabi Twist. Watch The Video

Written By Sonia Sharma | Mumbai | Published:


  • Sonakshi Sinha releases the 'Mera Naam Chin Chin Chu' remake
  • The remake version is sung by Sonakshi Sinha.

The trend of remixing iconic songs has been put in the spot time and again. While some feel that it is a good way to pay a homage to the older version and make it popular among the younger generation, some feel that old, iconic numbers should be left untouched. No matter how much the remix version face the brunt of being compared to the original number, Bollywood's obsession with remixes continues to stay intact. And the latest one to join the trend is the Punjabi version of the famous Geeta Dutt number 'Mera Naam Chin Chin Chu' from the 1958 film 'Howrah Bridge'. The new song features in the movie 'Happy Phirr Bhag Jayegi' featuring Sonakshi Sinha, Jassie Gill, Jimmy Shergill, and Piyush Mishra, while the original song featured veteran actors Helen and Ashok Kumar.  

And as expected, this new version too is getting a mixed response from netizens. While some are loving the new song with a Punjabi touch, a lot of music lovers feel that the remixed version is not doing any justice to the original song. Sonakshi Sinha took to Twitter to present the song and tweeted, "Chin Chin Chu ko punjabi tadka laga hi by @sohail_sen, words by @mudassar_as_is and voiced by @jassi1gill and ME! check it out here … #HappyPhirrBhagJayegi."

The latest song from 'Happy Phirr Bhaag Jayegi' sees Sonakshi Sinha, Jimmy Shergill, Jassie Gill and Piyush Mishra trapped among the gang of Chinese gangsters and just when the gangsters are about to kill our protagonists, they break into the song. The latest remix version is sung by Sonakshi Sinha and Jassie Gill with the film's director Mudassar Aziz rapping in the middle of the song. The music for the song is composed by Sohail Sen and lyrics by Mudassar Aziz. 

Source: YouTube

Sonakshi Sinha has made her singing debut with a romantic single 'Aaj Mood Ishqholic Hai' in 2016. In the same year, the actress lent her voice to the song 'Yeh Rajishein' from the film 'Akira' (2016).  Directed by Mudassar Aziz, 'Happy Phirr Bhag Jayegi' is the sequel to 'Happy Bhag Jayegi' (2016) starring Diana Penty, Ali Fazal, Abhay Deol, and Piyush Mishra. Most of the cast from the first film have been retained except Abhay Deol. While the latest additions to the franchise are Sonakshi Sinha, Jimmy Shergill, Jassie Gill, Aparshakti Khurana, and Piyush Mishra. 'Happy Phirr Bhag Jayegi' is all set to release on August 24.

Watch the track here:




Get the latest entertainment news from India & around the world. Now follow your favourite television celebs and telly updates. Republic World is your one-stop destination for trending Bollywood news. Tune in today to stay updated with all the latest news and headlines from the world of entertainment.